Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

The Perfect Christmas Gift by Katie Ginger #Review

 

I am delighted to be taking part in the celebrations for Katie Ginger's The Perfect Christmas Gift, which was published on 22nd October by HQ Digital.

Can neighbours become more than just good friends this Christmas?

Bella Moore is excitedly counting down the days to Christmas. That is until she arrives home one evening to find her boyfriend leaving her for another woman. Completely heartbroken, Bella is left wondering if Christmas can still be the same this year.

Next door, Bella’s neighbour Nick is facing his first Christmas as a single dad and doubting whether he can make it the magical time his son Freddie deserves.

Determined to fix both Christmas and their broken hearts, Bella comes up with an idea: a Christmas giving tree for the whole village, where the community can unite and secretly give each other the Christmas presents they truly need.

As Bella becomes chief elf, taking donations and delivering gifts with much-needed help from Nick and Freddie, the two neighbours grow closer and start seeing each other in a whole new light.

But when Nick’s estranged wife returns just before Christmas, is their budding romance over before it’s begun? Or will love be Nick and Bella’s perfect gift this Christmas?

A heart-warming hug in a novel – this is THE romcom you want to curl up with this Christmas! Perfect for fans of Heidi Swain, Trisha Ashley and Sarah Morgan.

                                                                                       My Thoughts

 This is one of my favourite Christmas reads so far. It is a warm, endearing story which totally embraces the festive season and makes you wish you could be in Meadowbank soaking it all up. I enjoyed the previous visit to Meadowbank in The Secrets of Meadow Farmhouse and appreciated the glimpse of Adam and Amelia. Bella is a lovely character who tries to look on the positive side of life despite her broken heart. Family, friendship and being kind to others come through loud and clear with bullying and selfishness shown up.

    The romance is gentle but believable and you are invested in Bella and Nick's story. I also enjoyed all the 3parts of the story which featured Bella's school where she is an experienced and popular teacher. You get a real flavour of the excitement of the season and there is so much humour in the school play preparations, recognisable to anyone who has lived through them With lashings of hot chocolate and festive treats, snowflakes and christmas trees, the story is perfect for a cosy festive read.


In short: A Christmas treat of a book

                                                                                About the Author


KATIE GINGER lives in the South East of England, by the sea, and she really wouldn't want to be anywhere else. Summer Strawberries at Swallowtail Bay is her fifth novel. The first, Spring Tides at Swallowtail Bay is available now. Her debut novel The Little Theatre on the Seafront was shortlisted for the Katie Fforde Debut Novel of the Year award, and her stand- alone Christmas novel Snowflakes at Mistletoe Cottage was a US Amazon bestseller. 
 
When she's not writing, Katie spends her time drinking gin, or with her husband, trying to keep alive their two children, Ellie and Sam. And there's also their adorable King Charles Spaniel, Wotsit (yes, he is named after the crisps!).
 
For more about Katie you can visit her website: www.keginger.com, find her on Facebook: www.facebook.com/KatieGAuthor, or follow her on Twitter: @KatieGAuthor and on Instagram www.instagram.com/katie_ginger_author
 
You can read my review of The Secrets of Meadow Farmhouse here,
Summer Season on the Seafront  here, Summer Strawberries at Swallowtail Bay here, Snowflakes at Mistletoe Cottage here. Winter Wishes at Swallowtail Bay here, The Little Theatre on the Seafront here and read a Meet the Author interview here.
 
Book links: Amazon UK  
 
Thanks to Katie Ginger and Sian Baldwin of HQ Digital for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.
 
                                                   Check out these brilliant bloggers!


Comments

Popular Posts