Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

Under the Mistletoe by Sue Moorcroft #Review

 


This was one of those festive books which I was looking forward to reading so I am absolutely delighted to be on the tour to celebrate the publication of Sue Moorcroft’s Under the Mistletoe by Avon on 28th October.   

Christmas. A time for family, friends – and rekindling old flames…

When Laurel returns to the village of Middledip, she’s looking for a quiet life. Adjusting to her recent divorce, she’s ready to spend some time getting back on her feet amidst the glorious snow-dusted countryside.

Yet, life in Middledip is far from straightforward. Coming to the aid of her sister, Rea, as she navigates her own troubles, Laurel barely has a moment to think about where her own life is going.

However, time stands still when she sees her old flame, Grady Cassidy – and it’s soon as if they’ve never been apart. But through her happiness, Laurel remembers why she left the village all those years ago, as she recalls a dark night and Grady’s once-wayward brother, Mac…

Can Laurel learn to forgive and forget? Or will her chances of Christmas under the mistletoe with Grady remain a dream?

An enchanting, festive read, perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Carole Matthews.


 My Thoughts

I found all the ingredients I always enjoy in a Christmas story but there is a lot more to the novel than that. Christmas and festive crafts overlay the story and add a glorious sparkly gloss over the village. Laurel's family ties are strong and what brings her back to Middledip. She has a secret which she has tried to bury in the past but which has influenced her all her adult life. The characterisation in the novel is a strength. We are introduced to the thoughts of several characters, either directly or through their actions. This gives them a certain depth. 

    The different generations interact in the story and at times, you can see them learn from each other. Despite the serious issues, there is a hopeful tone, with the possibility of forgiveness and moving on, if the characters can take that step. There are parallels in Laurel and Grady's lives. They realise that there is something in their lives that they both have to come to terms with. You also see their relationships with their siblings and niece and nephew. They also share a creative streak and express themselves through their art. I enjoyed all these story threads and found it to be a great Christmas read.

In short: Second chances and family ties.

About the Author


Sue Moorcroft is a Sunday Times bestselling author and has reached the coveted #1 spot on Amazon Kindle UK as well as top 100 in the US. She’s won the Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award, Readers’ Best Romantic Novel award and the Katie Fforde Bursary. Sue’s emotionally compelling, feel-good novels are currently released by publishing giant HarperCollins in the UK, US and Canada and by other publishers around the world. She’s also well known for short stories, serials, columns, writing ‘how to’ and courses.

Born in Germany into an army family, Sue spent much of her childhood in Cyprus and Malta but settled in Northamptonshire, England aged ten. She loves reading, Formula 1, travel, time spent with friends, dance exercise and yoga.

Newsletter sign-up: here

You can follow Sue here:  Website  |  TwitterFacebook Author PageFacebook |  Blog  |  Instagram   |  Linkedin
    
Book link: Amazon UK   |  Kobo  |  Apple  |  WH Smith
                | Bookshop.org    |  Audible

Thanks to Sue Moorcroft, Avon Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Check out these great bloggers!
 

 

Comments

Popular Posts