Skip to main content


Sunny Sundays at Primrose Hall by Jill Steeples #Review

  I am delighted to be on the tour to celebrate a return to Primrose Hall. Sunny Sundays at Primrose Hall by Jill Steeple was published by Boldwood Books on April 15th.   Primrose Hall is more than Jackson Moody and his fiancée Pia’s home – it’s the heart of the community. The Sunday craft fairs in the renovated stables are a popular draw for the locals and tourists alike, enticed by the beautiful surroundings of Primrose Woods as well as the irresistible goodies on display. But for Sophie Wright they’re a chance to forge a new life and a new business. After leaving behind a turbulent relationship, Sophie is starting again – and romance is the last thing on her mind. Drop dead gorgeous Tom Moody, Lord of the Manor Jackson’s newly-discovered older brother, is loving being a member of the Primrose Hall community. Content to muck in where he can be helpful, he’s just happy to be part of the family. But when tragedy strikes, Pia needs Tom more than he ever expected. And when Tom ne

Bear Grylls Adventures - 12 book set #Review


Today on the blog I have a Children's Collection of readers which will appeal to 9-12 year olds. Bear Grylls Adventures is a 12 book set which for curious young readers who enjoy an adventure series.

Each book in this fun new 12-book series from BEAR GRYLLS follows a different child on an outdoor activity camp. Once they are given a magical compass, they meet the inspirational adventurer in an amazing place and learn new skills and facts they can take with them back to their real life.

You can order them here: Books2Door

Titles In This Set:

  1. The Blizzard Challenge
  2. The Desert challenge
  3. The Jungle Challenge
  4. The Sea Challenge
  5. The River Challenge
  6. The Earthquake Challenge
  7. The Volcano Challenge
  8. The Safari Challenge
  9. The Cave Challenge
  10. The Mountain Challenge
  11. The Arctic Challenge
  12. The Sailing Challenge

My Thoughts

This is an appealing set.  All the paperbacks are colourfully illustrated on the covers with an eye-catching design. This series seems to have been designed with the needs of the readers in mind. For example, each story is divided into short chapters with the text clearly set out to aid the young reader. The font is described as reader-friendly, called OpenDyslexic and you can find out more about it here. There is lots of white space on the page to aid comprehension. 

    Black and white illustrations within the text add interest and add to the humour. At the end of each story are some fact-based activities. These take the form of  'Did you know?' sections with interesting facts about each challenge. 

    With simplified language and occasional dialogue, young readers will enjoy following each adventure which will whet their curiosity about the world. These books will encourage some reading stamina and those who love a series will also really enjoy them.

About the Author

BEAR GRYLLS OBE, has become known worldwide as one of the most recognized faces of survival and outdoor adventure.Trained from a young age in martial arts, Grylls went on to spend three years as a soldier in the British Special Forces, as part of 21 SAS Regiment. It was here that he perfected many of the survival skills that his fans all over the world enjoy, as he pits himself against the worst of Mother Nature. You can find out more about him here:

ISBN: 9781786961365 

Book link: Books2Door

Thanks to Books2Door for a copy of the set.