Skip to main content

Featured

Coming Home to Roseford Villas by Fay Keenan #Review

  Today we return to the series by Fay Keenan set in the Somerset village of Roseford. Coming Home to Roseford Villas was published by Boldwood Books on 12th April.   Aurora Henderson and Leo McKendrick were love’s young dream when they first dated as teenagers. But like many a first love, parents, life, and distance got in the way, and the couple lost touch. Now, twenty years later, Aurora – Rory to her friends – needs a break. Burnt out from her teaching career and longing to write a novel, Rory heads to the idyllic village of Roseford for a summer of writing and relaxation. Leo needs a change too. Ex-pat life in Australia has come to a sticky end so the opportunity to run his family’s B&B, Roseford Villas, for the summer is too good to turn down. Neither Rory nor Leo believe in fate, but when Leo opens the door to his latest guest, he might just have to reconsider. And when a sultry summer fills with nostalgia and memories and six weeks flies by too fast, love’s young

Secrets on the Italian Island by T A Williams #Review #EscapeToTuscany

 

I am delighted to be taking part in the Publication Day celebrations for TA Williams' Secrets on the Italian Island today. It is the next in his Escape to Tuscany series.

 
Her work has got in the way of relationships before – but never like this

Anna’s job as a geologist takes her all over the world, including to the beautiful island of Elba, where she’s sent to look for precious metals. And the island isn’t the only thing that’s gorgeous – she can’t believe her luck when she meets windsurfer Marco and sparks fly.

But Anna must keep her role on Elba a secret to avoid upsetting the locals, which means lying to Marco even as they grow closer. When her old friend Toby visits, Anna suddenly finds herself torn between the attentions of the two men. However, Anna’s not the only one keeping secrets.

Is Marco being entirely honest with her? And why did Toby really come to visit?

A fun and escapist romance, perfect for fans of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.



My Thoughts

TA Williams always gives us a breathtaking setting and this one, on the island of Elba, is no exception. It really does feel like an escape to a beautiful part of the world, with shimmering coasts, sandy beaches and the panoramic views. Anna is at an interesting moment in her life. Nearing the end of her twenties, she senses that her career is going to need a rethink and she needs to work out what she hopes to do next. Wherever she goes, she still meets people who seem to have become obsessive about their work or causes which has made for a lonely life with no room for anyone else. 

    Anna's job as a geologist throws up some interesting thoughts about the effect of modern life on the environment and she is aware of the effects her decisions can have on a community. Anna is faced with two would-be suitors but I was never too sure how her choice was going to work out. This is a gorgeous, escapist read and I am delighted to say that a certain black labrador has a major role in this story. 

In short: Sun, sea, romance

About the Author

I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations, even if travel to them is currently difficult.


You can follow Trevor here: Twitter | Website | Facebook 

Book links: Amazon UK
You can read my reviews of some of Trevor's books here: Dreaming of Christmas |  Dreaming of Florence   |   Dreaming of St Tropez| Dreaming of Rome | Dreaming of Verona | Dreaming of Italy
 
Thanks to T A Williams, Canelo, and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the event.

Comments

Popular Posts