Skip to main content

Featured

The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath #Review

  We travel back to the 12th Century for this gorgeous historical novel, The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath . It was published by Headline Accent on 18th July. 1191 and the Third Crusade is underway . .  It is 1191 and King Richard the Lionheart is on crusade to pitch battle against Saladin and liberate the city of Jerusalem and her lands. His mother, the formidable Eleanor of Aquitaine and his promised bride, Princess Berengaria of Navarre, make a perilous journey over the Alps in midwinter. They are to rendezvous with Richard in the Sicilian port of Messina. There are hazards along the way - vicious assassins, marauding pirates, violent storms and a shipwreck. Berengaria is as feisty as her foes and, surviving it all, she and Richard marry in Cyprus. England needs an heir. But first, Richard and his Queen must return home . . . The Lost Queen is a thrilling medieval story of high adventure, survival, friendship and the enduring love of a Queen for her King.   My Thoughts

Dreaming of Rome by TA Williams #Review



I am delighted to welcome TA Williams' latest novel, Dreaming of Rome to the blog today. A new novel by TAWilliams is always a highlight for me. 

Rome is where the heart is… The heartwarming read of the summer


Jo has had enough of handsome men. After a painful break-up, she’s decided she doesn’t believe in love.


Then, while on a professional trip to the magical city of Rome, she meets Corrado, a scientist and her brother-in-law to be, who doesn’t believe in love either. To him, it’s just a biochemical reaction. So what’s the problem?


Well, he’s gorgeous for a start, as well as charming, generous, intelligent and attentive, and she feels herself immediately falling for him, despite her new outlook.


The majesty of the Eternal City brings them ever closer together. But is their relationship doomed, or will love conquer all?


Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, Dreaming of Rome is a joyous and uplifting read from T.A. Williams, perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Jenny Oliver

My Thoughts

The beautiful city of Rome takes centre stage in this latest TA Williams romance and there are some lovely descriptions of the buildings there. Set against all this antiquity, there are some up to the minute themes around conservation and the environment. In Jo and Corrado, you have two switched on central characters, who are intelligent and interested in the world around them. I love Jo's passion for butterflies  which fits with her other interests.

    No TA Willams' book is complete without a black labrador and I do think that Daisy manages to steal most scenes she is in. With her love of water, food and sleeping, she seems spot on, a true labrador. This is a lovely warm book which I was loathe to put down. It is great read for the Summer and  a real escape to a wonderful location.

In short: Can romance flourish with this scientific pair?

About the Author

T.A. Williams lives in Devon with his Italian wife. He was born in England of a Scottish mother and Welsh father. After a degree in modern languages at Nottingham University, he lived and worked in Switzerland, France and Italy, before returning to run one of the best-known language schools in the UK. He’s taught Arab princes, Brazilian beauty queens and Italian billionaires. He speaks a number of languages and has travelled extensively. He has eaten snake, still-alive fish, and alligator. A Spanish dog, a Russian bug and a Korean parasite have done their best to eat him in return. His hobby is long-distance cycling, but his passion is writing.
 

You can follow Trevor here: Twitter | Website | Facebook 
You can read my reviews of some of Trevor's books here: Dreaming of Christmas |  Dreaming of Florence   |   Dreaming of St Tropez.

Thanks to T A Williams and Ellie Pilcher of Canelo for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Here's some more great bloggers to check out!


Comments

Popular Posts