Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

Dreaming of Verona by T A Williams #Review #PublicationDay


I am delighted to welcome TA Williams' latest novel, Dreaming of Verona to the blog today. A new novel by TA Williams is such a delight for me and today is Publication Day for his latest escape to a wonderful setting. This time it is Verona!. 

 Verona is the City of Love. But will Suzie find romance there or, like Romeo and Juliet, will it all end in tears?

When Suzie is hired to accompany spoiled, abrasive Lady Alexandra Tedburn on an all-expenses paid holiday to Italy, she fears the trip will be a disaster.

But she soon discovers there’s more to Alex than shopping and tantrums, and she’s determined to help her realise her potential – against Alex’s authoritarian father’s wishes.

As they settle in Verona, Suzie can’t stop thinking about local artist Michael, who is still mourning the tragic death of his wife. With Suzie’s future uncertain, and Michael’s past holding him back, it seems there’s no hope for romance in the city of star-crossed lovers… or is there?

A gorgeously uplifting and moving story, Dreaming of Verona is the perfect read for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Jenny Oliver.

My Thoughts

TA Williams always delivers a gorgeous romantic read and this one is no exception. You can absolutely visualise the beautiful setting in Verona, with its restaurants and piazzas, not to mention the stunning Lake Garda. What I particularly like about this book is the character progression which you can see. Lord Tedburn and his family all have to come to terms with changes and decide what they really want to do. Michael is struggling to come to terms with a huge loss in his life.

    Suzie turns out to have lots of courage and enterprise, although at first, it seems to be hidden. At times, she lacks confidence and you get to see how events encourage her to reappraise her low self esteem. Of course, I was waiting for the inevitable black labrador to make an entrance and I wasn't disappointed. Dogberry is as adorable - and hungry- as ever.  

In short: A delicious romance in the City of Love. 

About the Author


I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations and, as a writer, I obviously have to go there in person and check them out first. I love my job…

 

You can follow Trevor here: Twitter | Website | Facebook 
Book links: Amazon UK | Amazon US
You can read my reviews of some of Trevor's books here: Dreaming of Christmas |  Dreaming of Florence   |   Dreaming of St Tropez| Dreaming of Rome
 

Thanks to T A Williams, Canelo and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.
 

Comments

Popular Posts