Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

New Beginnings at Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters #Review


Having read its predecessor, Coming Home to Glendale Hall (you can read my review here ), I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the celebrations for the next in the series, New Beginnings at Glendale Hall, which was published on February 5th. 
 
Two weddings and a baby…but who will get their happy ever after?


Emily Prescott’s life isn’t going to plan. Her dreams of starting a family with fireman boyfriend Greg and opening up her own bakery in London feel like they will never come true. So when a wedding invite arrives from her oldest friend, Beth Williams, Emily is thrilled. Not only will she get to return to her childhood home in Scotland, but best of all – Beth wants her to bake the wedding cake!
 
However, her excitement is cut short when she discovers that Greg has cheated on her. Devastated by his betrayal, Emily flees to Glendale Hall, Beth’s grand estate in the Highlands, and tries to distracts herself with helping with the wedding plans, but that’s not easy when Greg keeps hounding her to forgive him. Then she’s introduced to Glendale’s new young and handsome vicar Brodie, and things become even more complicated.


When Emily discovers that Greg’s betrayal runs deeper than she imagined, she finds herself with a whole host of decisions to make, especially when she discovers her long awaited dream is finally being fulfilled – at exactly at the wrong time…


Escape to Scotland and fall in love with this gorgeous and inspiring romance from the bestselling author of Coming Home to Glendale Hall! The perfect feel-good read for fans of Holly Martin, Heidi Swain, and Jill Mansell.


My Thoughts

This is another of those books where I keep dipping back into the final chapter- I loved it that much! I settled back into the story of life up in Scotland so easily and all the characters were a delight to meet again. That is not to say that you cannot read it as a standalone. You absolutely can but I am sure that if you love it, you will want to find out how Drew and Beth got together. 

    Full of romance and warm, uplifting scenes, there are, nevertheless, some hard and serious themes running beneath the storyline. It is not all hearts and flowers but some difficult decisions have to be faced. I also like how different generations are met and shown to have their own issues and relationships. You certainly feel part of the community. Having the courage to take a risk to attain your dreams and supporting each other are major strands to the story. I can't wait for the third in the series- hopefully there is going to be one!

In short: Starting again and taking a risk. 


About the Author
 

Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. Her
moving debut novel THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE was chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star. Her heart-warming new novel SUMMER AT THE KINDNESS CAFE is available to download now.


As well as being an author, Victoria also works as a Waterstones bookseller and buys far too many books there. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry (named after Harry Potter). Victoria is not only obsessed with books but loves buying slogan tops, mugs and notebooks, and posting them all on Instagram.

You can discover more about Victoria – and find pictures of Harry the cat – by following her on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at victoria-writes.com.
Book links: Apple Books   |  Amazon UK   |  Kobo
Thanks to Victoria Walters, Hera Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources   for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.


Check out the rest of the tour!
 

Comments

Popular Posts