Coming Home to Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters #Review



I am thrilled to be taking part on the opening day of the blog tour to celebrate Victoria Walter's festive novel, Coming Home to Glendale Hall. Today is Publication Day so it is a special day indeed!



No matter how far you go, home is where the heart is...



Beth Williams hasn’t been home for ten years. After falling pregnant at sixteen, she ran away from the imposing Scottish estate where she grew up rather than risk her family’s disapproval, working hard to build a life for herself and daughter Isabelle - but now she’s finally returning to Glendale Hall.



As Beth tries to mend her broken family ties, and fights to bring the community of Glendale back together, she realises that the story she has told herself for a decade might well be a very different one from the truth. Even though she ran from Glendale it has never left her heart. And, she soon realises, neither has Drew – Beth’s first love.



Will Beth be able to forgive her mother and grandmother (and herself) for what happened ten years ago? What will Drew say when he discovers the secret she’s been keeping from him for so long? Can a festive trail bring the village back together?



Will Christmas work its magic on Glendale - or will Beth be forced to run away from it all over again?



A charming, uplifting novel that will warm your heart – the perfect read to curl up with this autumn. Fans of Trisha Ashley, Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will love this gorgeously romantic read.


 My Thoughts

This is one of those special festive books which you dive straight into and feel sorry when it has finished.  It has a great setting, up in snowy Scotland and you feel from the beginning that this sad, run-down village conceals a community that is ready to find its identity again - a bit like Beth herself, really. As she settles back into life in the Hall, she begins to remember some of the good moments from her childhood as well as the trauma which sent her away. You know that she is a fighter and will her on to help heal the fractured family and community she meets again.

    I loved the relationship which Beth has with her grandmother. She struggles to forgive her for the past but you can sense that there is a strong bond between all the female members of this family. You come to understand somethng about Beth's mother's behaviour, as well, and realise that there are many tensions beneath the facade she presents to the world. With romances brewing and lots of Christmas sparkle, this is a lovely book to savour. Second chances and starting anew with a clean page - there is hope and affection in every page.

In short: A heart-warming tale of second chances, love and forgiveness.

About the Author



Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. Her moving debut novel THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE was chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star. Her heart-warming new novel SUMMER AT THE KINDNESS CAFE is available to download now.


As well as being an author, Victoria also works as a Waterstones bookseller and buys far too many books there. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry (named after Harry Potter). Victoria is not only obsessed with books but loves buying slogan tops, mugs and notebooks, and posting them all on Instagram.

You can discover more about Victoria – and find pictures of Harry the cat – by following her on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at victoria-writes.com.

Book links: Apple Books   |  Amazon UK   |  Kobo

Thanks to Victoria Walters, Hera Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources   for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

                                                             Follow the rest of the tour!  



Comments

Popular Posts