Skip to main content

Featured

Sunny Sundays at Primrose Hall by Jill Steeples #Review

  I am delighted to be on the tour to celebrate a return to Primrose Hall. Sunny Sundays at Primrose Hall by Jill Steeple was published by Boldwood Books on April 15th.   Primrose Hall is more than Jackson Moody and his fiancée Pia’s home – it’s the heart of the community. The Sunday craft fairs in the renovated stables are a popular draw for the locals and tourists alike, enticed by the beautiful surroundings of Primrose Woods as well as the irresistible goodies on display. But for Sophie Wright they’re a chance to forge a new life and a new business. After leaving behind a turbulent relationship, Sophie is starting again – and romance is the last thing on her mind. Drop dead gorgeous Tom Moody, Lord of the Manor Jackson’s newly-discovered older brother, is loving being a member of the Primrose Hall community. Content to muck in where he can be helpful, he’s just happy to be part of the family. But when tragedy strikes, Pia needs Tom more than he ever expected. And when Tom ne

A Summer Wedding for the Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett #Review

I am delighted to be featuring the second in Jo Bartlett's series about a team of Cornish midwives, A Summer Wedding for the Cornish Midwife which is published by Boldwood today. 


It’s wedding day in Port Agnes!

The venue is booked, the dress is picked, and Senior Midwife Anna Jones only has to say ‘I Do!’ to the man she loves! Theirs might have been a whirlwind romance, but Brae Penrose is everything Anna dreamed her husband would be and she can’t wait to start a family with him. 

But as the big day approaches, Anna still isn’t pregnant and when disaster strikes, their perfect day looks destined not to happen at all! Is it a sign to slow things down? 

The other midwives won’t hear of Anna and Brae postponing their big day, and soon the whole community of Port Agnes comes together to make sure the Penrose wedding goes off without a hitch!

And Anna realises, baby or not, she already has her dream family with Brae and her friends by her side.

Meet The Cornish Midwives of Port Agnes- where community, friendship and love are always delivered.

An uplifting and escapist read, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin! 


 My Thoughts

I thoroughly enjoyed the opening novel in this series, The Cornish Midwife so I was delighted to read what happens next to Anna and Ella and the rest of the Midwifery team. Their work lends itself to meeting interesting characters and situations and once again, you get to see the variety of their work. It is crystal clear how well regarded the team is by the local community, most of whom feel they owe them a debt of gratitude. Ella and Anna's professionalism shines through again as their work always takes priority.  

With family at the centre of Anna's work and her personal life, you always have sympathy for her as she struggles to cope with grief and loss. Nevertheless, she stays positive and her hard work and kindness is repaid when she needs it most. There is true romance within these pages and some close relationships which results in a warm and uplifting read. It is also interesting to glimpse the flip side of a happy family through the adoption and fostering segments. You are certainly led to the conclusion that families can be made if the will to love is there. Anna is nearing her forties and struggling to conceive her own longed-for baby. Through the story, you see her grow in her attitude to what is important. With its gorgeous setting and lively characters, the novel did not disappoint and hopefully, the next in the series will let you know what happens next...

In short: family takes on a special meaning

About the Author


I was born a stone's throw from the English Channel and I still live near the sea in Kent, with my own family - so close to the South Eastern edge of England that we're very nearly French - and it's probably why so many of my books are set near the sea too. I've made up stories for as long as I can remember, but never really took it any further. Concentrating on my career and family, writing went on the back burner until a catalyst called cancer gave me a major kick up the proverbial. I decided I was going to write that novel after all. 

 You can follow Jo here: Facebook  |  Twitter   |  Instagram  

  |  Newsletter sign up  |  Bookbub profile 

Book link: Amazon UK

Thanks to Jo Barlett, Boldwood Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 

 

Check out these great bloggers!


If you enjoyed this post, subscribe by clicking here

  


 


 

 

Comments

Popular Posts