Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

Highland Games by Evie Alexander #Review #Giveaway #Kinloch series

 

Today I have a hilarious romcom, Highland Games by Evie Alexander which is part of the The Kinloch Series and which was published on 15th October. I also have a great giveaway with the chance to win a signed copy of the book. Details on how to enter are at the foot of this post.


A fiery heroine, a Scottish god, a cabin, a castle, and enough heat to warm the coldest Scottish winter…

Highland Games is an unputdownable, enemies-to-lovers, romantic comedy, with sparkle and sizzle and a guaranteed happy ending. This sexy, witty, debut from Evie Alexander will have you laughing, swooning, and staying up way past your bedtime...

Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Talia Hibbert, Sophie Kinsella, and Helen Hoang. If you’re looking for a riotous romantic comedy with plenty of heat, then Highland Games is for you!

♥♥♥ Welcome to Kinloch, and the hottest winter Scotlands ever seen. ♥♥♥

Zoe’s always played it safe, just as her parents wanted. But when her great-uncle dies and leaves her a ramshackle cabin in the Scottish Highlands, she decides it’s time to change her life.

Upping sticks seems like a good idea in her cosy flat in London, but the reality is very different. There’s no electricity or running water, the roof leaks and there’s no front door. If that wasn’t bad enough, she’s moved up in the depths of winter and her scorching hot neighbour wants her out.

Rory’s got a fifty thousand tonne problem. If he can’t make Kinloch castle profitable, he’s out of a job. He needs a clear head, but there’s someone living in the cabin he saw as his own and she’s turned his world upside down.

Rory needs Zoe out of Scotland, and out of his life. The trouble is, she has no intention of leaving.

Let the games begin…

My Thoughts

 This is a lively and amusing romcom which is just right for escapist reading. There are some pretty hot scenes of course, so be warned! In Zoe you have a bright and vivacious character who feels drawn back to the Highlands where she stayed as a child. What she finds there is warm friendship and a second family who are delighted to welcome her back. Rory has quite a few secrets which gradually come to light.

    The setting is gorgeous and despite the fact that the cabin Zoe inherits is something of a hovel, you can imagine it taking shape. Zoe and Rory both share a love of the countryside and love the wildness and open spaces. There are some genuinely amusing moments in the story and the repartee between Zoe and Rory keeps fizzing along. An enemies to lovers story, this is an enjoyable, fun read. 

In short: a fun romcom

About the Author


Evie Alexander is the author of sexy romantic comedies with a very British sense of humour. She takes a method approach to her work, believing her capacity to repeatedly fail at life and love is what has given her such a rich supply of material for her writing.

Her interests include reading, eating, saving the world, and fantasising about people who only exist between the pages of her books. She lives in the West country with her family.

You can follow Evie here:  Website  |  Facebook  |  Instagram 

   |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |   bookbub  |   Pinterest

 Book link:  Amazon UK

Thanks to Evie Alexander, Emlin Press and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Check out the rest of the tour!

Giveaway (UK only)


 




Giveaway to win a signed copy of Highland Games, Shortbread and more… (Open to UK Only) To enter, follow the link below and good luck!

Prize is a signed copy of Highland Games, Exclusive postcard and bookmark, Personalised heart & Shortbread

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

Popular Posts