Skip to main content

Featured

The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath #Review

  We travel back to the 12th Century for this gorgeous historical novel, The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath . It was published by Headline Accent on 18th July. 1191 and the Third Crusade is underway . .  It is 1191 and King Richard the Lionheart is on crusade to pitch battle against Saladin and liberate the city of Jerusalem and her lands. His mother, the formidable Eleanor of Aquitaine and his promised bride, Princess Berengaria of Navarre, make a perilous journey over the Alps in midwinter. They are to rendezvous with Richard in the Sicilian port of Messina. There are hazards along the way - vicious assassins, marauding pirates, violent storms and a shipwreck. Berengaria is as feisty as her foes and, surviving it all, she and Richard marry in Cyprus. England needs an heir. But first, Richard and his Queen must return home . . . The Lost Queen is a thrilling medieval story of high adventure, survival, friendship and the enduring love of a Queen for her King.   My Thoughts

A Winter's Wish for the Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett #Review #TheCornish MidwivesSeriesBook3

 


I am delighted to be featuring the third in Jo Bartlett's series about a team of Cornish midwives, A Winter's Wish for the Cornish Midwife which was published by Boldwood Books on 7th October. 

Brand new from the top 10 bestselling author of The Cornish Midwife. Perfect for fans of Call The Midwife

A secret love…

As winter descends on the coastal town of Port Agnes, midwife Toni Samuels’ mood is as dark as the winter clouds that roll in. Toni loves her job as a midwife, but her private life is falling apart. Because Toni is keeping a secret– a relationship with fellow male midwife Bobby that no one can ever know about.

A damaged hope…

Kind and gorgeous, Bobby is a huge hit at the midwifery centre, but he’s tired of keeping his feelings for Toni a secret – of always coming second best. He knows that Toni’s past is painful, but unless she can be open with her feelings for him, he’s prepared to walk away from their love.

Can love find a way?

Toni loves Bobby and wishes things could be different between them. But torn between her past and a future with him, everything seems hopeless. Until fate hands Toni one last chance…

Now Toni’s secret wish is in her hands…if only she can be brave enough to take a chance and make her dreams come true.

An uplifting and escapist read, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

What readers are saying about The Cornish Midwife...

'I love second chance stories. I love returning home stories. So a book combining both is an absolute winner for me. The Cornish Midwife is simply gorgeous. Stunning setting, wonderful characters, and oozing with warmth. A triumph from Jo Bartlett and a cracking start to what promises to be a fabulous series' Jessica Redland

'Perfectly written and set in the beating heart of a community, this story is a wonderful slice of Cornish escapism.' Helen J Rolfe


 My Thoughts

This is a great series and I thoroughly enjoyed the first two in the series. The team spirit between the midwives makes for a warm and comforting read and the variety of the characters, both medics and community members makes for a rich story. Although you get to keep up with how the team members are getting on, this story focuses on Toni and Bobby's relationship and you realise why they have been so reluctant in the earlier books to become an official partnership. I did find Toni's situation frustrating to read and felt quite exasperated at how she allowed herself to be manipulated by her ex-fiancé's mother. 

    You also follow Jess and her application to be a foster parent. I am sure that she will get her own novel in the series at some point and can see some potential there. I also like how issues of childlessness are interwoven into the stories as a contrast to the births which are described. The setting on the Cornish coast is gorgeous and allows moody walks along the beach and remote farms to be reached. 

In short: A novel full of friendship and community

About the Author


Jo Bartlett is the bestselling author of nineteen women’s fiction titles. She fits her writing in between her two day jobs as an educational consultant and university lecturer and lives with her family and three dogs on the Kent coast. Boldwood is publishing the first title in The Cornish Midwife Series – part of a twelve-book deal – in April 2021.

You can read my reviews of earlier books in the series here: The Cornish Midwife  |  A Summer wedding for the Cornish Midwife 

 You can follow Jo here: Facebook  |  Twitter   |  Instagram   |  Newsletter sign up  |  Bookbub profile 

Book link: Amazon UK

Thanks to Jo Barlett, Boldwood Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 

 

Check out these great bloggers!


 

Comments

Popular Posts