Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

A Winter's Wish for the Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett #Review #TheCornish MidwivesSeriesBook3

 


I am delighted to be featuring the third in Jo Bartlett's series about a team of Cornish midwives, A Winter's Wish for the Cornish Midwife which was published by Boldwood Books on 7th October. 

Brand new from the top 10 bestselling author of The Cornish Midwife. Perfect for fans of Call The Midwife

A secret love…

As winter descends on the coastal town of Port Agnes, midwife Toni Samuels’ mood is as dark as the winter clouds that roll in. Toni loves her job as a midwife, but her private life is falling apart. Because Toni is keeping a secret– a relationship with fellow male midwife Bobby that no one can ever know about.

A damaged hope…

Kind and gorgeous, Bobby is a huge hit at the midwifery centre, but he’s tired of keeping his feelings for Toni a secret – of always coming second best. He knows that Toni’s past is painful, but unless she can be open with her feelings for him, he’s prepared to walk away from their love.

Can love find a way?

Toni loves Bobby and wishes things could be different between them. But torn between her past and a future with him, everything seems hopeless. Until fate hands Toni one last chance…

Now Toni’s secret wish is in her hands…if only she can be brave enough to take a chance and make her dreams come true.

An uplifting and escapist read, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

What readers are saying about The Cornish Midwife...

'I love second chance stories. I love returning home stories. So a book combining both is an absolute winner for me. The Cornish Midwife is simply gorgeous. Stunning setting, wonderful characters, and oozing with warmth. A triumph from Jo Bartlett and a cracking start to what promises to be a fabulous series' Jessica Redland

'Perfectly written and set in the beating heart of a community, this story is a wonderful slice of Cornish escapism.' Helen J Rolfe


 My Thoughts

This is a great series and I thoroughly enjoyed the first two in the series. The team spirit between the midwives makes for a warm and comforting read and the variety of the characters, both medics and community members makes for a rich story. Although you get to keep up with how the team members are getting on, this story focuses on Toni and Bobby's relationship and you realise why they have been so reluctant in the earlier books to become an official partnership. I did find Toni's situation frustrating to read and felt quite exasperated at how she allowed herself to be manipulated by her ex-fiancé's mother. 

    You also follow Jess and her application to be a foster parent. I am sure that she will get her own novel in the series at some point and can see some potential there. I also like how issues of childlessness are interwoven into the stories as a contrast to the births which are described. The setting on the Cornish coast is gorgeous and allows moody walks along the beach and remote farms to be reached. 

In short: A novel full of friendship and community

About the Author


Jo Bartlett is the bestselling author of nineteen women’s fiction titles. She fits her writing in between her two day jobs as an educational consultant and university lecturer and lives with her family and three dogs on the Kent coast. Boldwood is publishing the first title in The Cornish Midwife Series – part of a twelve-book deal – in April 2021.

You can read my reviews of earlier books in the series here: The Cornish Midwife  |  A Summer wedding for the Cornish Midwife 

 You can follow Jo here: Facebook  |  Twitter   |  Instagram   |  Newsletter sign up  |  Bookbub profile 

Book link: Amazon UK

Thanks to Jo Barlett, Boldwood Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 

 

Check out these great bloggers!


 

Comments

Popular Posts