Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

Making Waves at Penvennan Cove by Linn B Halton #Review

 

We're returning to Cornwall for Linn B Halton's Making Waves at Penvennan Cove which will be published by Aria on October 14th. 

For once, things are going well for thirty-year-old Kerra Shaw. She has a  fulfilling job helping small businesses  in the local community, she is within a few minutes' walk of all  the people she loves best, and most importantly, she has finally  got together with her child hood sweetheart, Ross. It's not all  plain sailing, though ,because they have to keep their relationship a secret. The feud between their families still rages on, and Kerra doesn't want to  pour fuel on its flame and risk losing  everything. But  Kerra should know better than anyone that secrets don't stay hidden for long in a community like Penvennan Cove...

An uplifting and feel-good romance novel for fans of Lucy Coleman, Jessica Redland and Lisa Hobman.

My Thoughts

The thing that strikes you about life in Penvennan Cove is the community which at times feels supportive and yet at others, feels the opposite. Rumour spreading is rife and at time this definitely gets in the way for Kerra. Romance is ratcheted up for this  second in the series. I had to accept the premise that Kerra and Ross had to keep their affair a secret. I wasn't too sure, but I went along with it for the story.  

    Kerra is a wonderful character. She is full of independent thinking yet measures this with compassion and a social conscience. I always enjoy a series. You can read this as a standalone  but would get so much more out of it if you read the series in order. The community activities drive the story forward. together with the stunning scenery. I am looking forward to seeing how the story devellops in book 3 of the series.

In short:  romance in a Cornish community 

 

About the Author


From interior designer to author, when Linn B. Halton's not writing, or spending time with the family, she's either upcyclingfurniture or working in the garden. Linn won the 2013 UK Festival of Romance: Innovation in Romantic Fiction award; her novels have been short-listed in the UK's Festival of Romance and the eFestival of Words Book Awards. Living in Coed Duon in the Welsh Valleys with her 'rock', Lawrence, and gorgeous Bengal cat Ziggy, she freely admits she's an eternal romantic. Linn is a member of the Romantic Novelists' Association and the Society of Authors. Linn writes feel-good, uplifting novels about life, love and relationships.

You can follow Linn here:

Website   |  Facebook   |  Twitter
 
Head of Zeus :  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Facebook  |  Website

Book Links: Amazon UK   

 Thanks to Linn B Halton and Aria Books  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

                                                             Follow the rest of the tour!
 
 
 

Comments

  1. Waves, Pam, and thanks so much for being on the tour! Happy Saturday, lovely - have a fabulous weekend! xx

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts