Skip to main content

Featured

The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath #Review

  We travel back to the 12th Century for this gorgeous historical novel, The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath . It was published by Headline Accent on 18th July. 1191 and the Third Crusade is underway . .  It is 1191 and King Richard the Lionheart is on crusade to pitch battle against Saladin and liberate the city of Jerusalem and her lands. His mother, the formidable Eleanor of Aquitaine and his promised bride, Princess Berengaria of Navarre, make a perilous journey over the Alps in midwinter. They are to rendezvous with Richard in the Sicilian port of Messina. There are hazards along the way - vicious assassins, marauding pirates, violent storms and a shipwreck. Berengaria is as feisty as her foes and, surviving it all, she and Richard marry in Cyprus. England needs an heir. But first, Richard and his Queen must return home . . . The Lost Queen is a thrilling medieval story of high adventure, survival, friendship and the enduring love of a Queen for her King.   My Thoughts

Making Waves at Penvennan Cove by Linn B Halton #Review

 

We're returning to Cornwall for Linn B Halton's Making Waves at Penvennan Cove which will be published by Aria on October 14th. 

For once, things are going well for thirty-year-old Kerra Shaw. She has a  fulfilling job helping small businesses  in the local community, she is within a few minutes' walk of all  the people she loves best, and most importantly, she has finally  got together with her child hood sweetheart, Ross. It's not all  plain sailing, though ,because they have to keep their relationship a secret. The feud between their families still rages on, and Kerra doesn't want to  pour fuel on its flame and risk losing  everything. But  Kerra should know better than anyone that secrets don't stay hidden for long in a community like Penvennan Cove...

An uplifting and feel-good romance novel for fans of Lucy Coleman, Jessica Redland and Lisa Hobman.

My Thoughts

The thing that strikes you about life in Penvennan Cove is the community which at times feels supportive and yet at others, feels the opposite. Rumour spreading is rife and at time this definitely gets in the way for Kerra. Romance is ratcheted up for this  second in the series. I had to accept the premise that Kerra and Ross had to keep their affair a secret. I wasn't too sure, but I went along with it for the story.  

    Kerra is a wonderful character. She is full of independent thinking yet measures this with compassion and a social conscience. I always enjoy a series. You can read this as a standalone  but would get so much more out of it if you read the series in order. The community activities drive the story forward. together with the stunning scenery. I am looking forward to seeing how the story devellops in book 3 of the series.

In short:  romance in a Cornish community 

 

About the Author


From interior designer to author, when Linn B. Halton's not writing, or spending time with the family, she's either upcyclingfurniture or working in the garden. Linn won the 2013 UK Festival of Romance: Innovation in Romantic Fiction award; her novels have been short-listed in the UK's Festival of Romance and the eFestival of Words Book Awards. Living in Coed Duon in the Welsh Valleys with her 'rock', Lawrence, and gorgeous Bengal cat Ziggy, she freely admits she's an eternal romantic. Linn is a member of the Romantic Novelists' Association and the Society of Authors. Linn writes feel-good, uplifting novels about life, love and relationships.

You can follow Linn here:

Website   |  Facebook   |  Twitter
 
Head of Zeus :  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Facebook  |  Website

Book Links: Amazon UK   

 Thanks to Linn B Halton and Aria Books  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

                                                             Follow the rest of the tour!
 
 
 

Comments

  1. Waves, Pam, and thanks so much for being on the tour! Happy Saturday, lovely - have a fabulous weekend! xx

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts