Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

Murder at the Matterhorn by TA Williams #Review #ArmstrongAndOscarCozyMysterySeriesBook5

 

I was delighted to read another in the  Armstrong and Oscar Cozy Mystery series, Murder at the Matterhorn by T A Williams. It was published on November 24th by Boldwood Books. 

 
An old friend in need…

Despite being retired from the police, Dan Armstrong is always on hand to help with solving a crime. So, when he’s contacted by an old colleague in need of help, Dan readily agrees. The only problem Dan can see is the location – an isolated mountain-top campsite of UFO enthusiasts.

An unexplained death...

But these are no ordinary star watchers, and when Dan arrives one member of the group is already dead. Some of the group suspect alien abduction, but Dan is sure the killer is much closer to home.

An out of this world case?

Dan doesn’t believe in aliens, but faced with black hole of secrecy from the group of suspects, he and Oscar have their work cut out to catch the murderer…before they strike again.

It's another case for Dan and Oscar to solve!

A gripping new murder mystery series by bestselling author T.A. Williams, perfect for fans of Lee Strauss and Beth Byers.


 My Thoughts

This cosy crime story takes us to the north of Italy, to the Matterhorn where out of this world happenings are on the agenda. Looking at the night sky is a group of varied characters who all have their own eccentricities. Dan Armstrong is drawn there because of a suspicious death. Welcomed by the local police, he is able to infiltrate the group and aid the police as a translator. There are lots of clues to follow and some colourful characters to investigate. 

    As usual, Oscar steals the show with his meaningful looks and ability to charm. There are some great descriptions of the local area and the delicacies which are available at the nearby eateries. There is a lot to discover about the backgrounds of the characters and how they may or may not know each other. Dan lets us in on his thoughts on the case, as he practises his investigative skills. There is a surprising denouement which makes for a satisfying read.

In short: Dan and Oscar strike again!

About the Archers

T A Williams is the author of over twenty bestselling romances for HQ and Canelo and is now turning his hand to cosy crime, set in his beloved Italy, for Boldwood. The series will introduce us to retired DCI Armstrong and his labrador Oscar and the first book, entitled Murder in Tuscany, will be published in October 2022. Trevor lives in Devon with his Italian wife.

You can follow Trevor here: Twitter | Website | Facebook 

You can read my reviews of some of Trevor's books here: Dreaming of Christmas |  Dreaming of Florence   |   Dreaming of St Tropez| Dreaming of Rome | Dreaming of Verona | Dreaming of Italy
  
Thanks to T A Williams, Boldwood Books, and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the event.
Check out these great bloggers!

 

 


 


Comments

Popular Posts