Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

New Beginnings by the Sunflower Cliffs by Georgina Troy #Review

 

New Beginnings by the Sunflower Cliffs by Georgina Troy is the first in a gorgeous, romantic series set on the breathtaking island of Jersey. Perfect for fans of Jessica Redland and Phillipa Ashley. It was published by Boldwood Books on November 15th.

 
People say that it’s hard not to fall in love living on the sunny island of Jersey, but for Bea Philips, still reeling from a divorce and the loss of her beloved godmother, she's not sure she can find the time. While her soon-to-be-ex-husband is trying to take away the home she grew up in, surly but attractive builder Luke is doing it up. Her old flame Tom has just turned up as her new manager at the office, and she has no idea what the mysterious Jersey Kiss is that her godmother has bequeathed to her...

Is life going to give Bea a break, so she can keep her dream home, and maybe fall in love?



 My Thoughts

This is a promising start to a new series which centres on Bea, who is at a crossroads in her life. Determined to hold on to her late godmother's house, she puts all her energy into trying to find a way to save it, despite her ex-husband's demands. She finds a great comfort in the house, particularly in the garden which she tries to keep going as her godmother would have wanted.

    The men in Bea's life are a varied bunch and as you discover, they do not all have her best interests at heart. Nevertheless, there is the promise of a new romance and a future on the island, if she can but see it. The setting is gorgeous and adds a dimension to the story. I also enjoyed some of the secondary characters, particularly her friends who stand by her and who add humour through their interactions. 

In short: interesting characters and a wonderful setting

About the Author

Georgina Troy writes bestselling uplifting romantic escapes and sets her novels on the island of Jersey, where she was born and has lived for most of her life. She has done a twelve-book deal with Boldwood, including backlist titles, and the first book in her Sunshine Island series was published in May 2022.

 


Sign up to Georgina's Newsletter at: deborahcarr.org/contact
 

You can follow Deborah here: Website   |  Facebook  |  Twitter 
                                               |  Pinterest  |  Instagram  |  Bookbub

  Book links   |
 
Thanks to Georgina Troy, Boldwood Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

                                               Check out these brilliant bloggers!
 

 


 


Comments

Popular Posts