Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

Escape to the Swiss Chalet by Carrie Walker #Review

I am delighted to introduce Carrie Walker's debut, Escape to the Swiss Chalet which is a gorgeous festive read. It was published by Aria on November 9th.


When your life goes off-piste how do you climb back up the mountain?

Holly Roberts is well-known among family and friends for despising the cold, so no one is more surprised than her when she agrees to pack her bags and move to the Swiss Alps. But after getting her heart broken, spending the winter season working as a sous-chef for wealthy twins Genevieve and gorgeous Luca, is exactly what the doctor ordered.

Verbier is home to millionaires and Holly has never felt more out of place in the snow-capped wooden chalet. Thankfully new friends, chalet girl Liv and chef Xavier are there to be her guide in this new world of apr├Ęs-ski and fondue, and to teach her how to get off chair lifts! And then there is Luca... rich, handsome, kind but what is the catch?

She just wanted to escape her problems but could she get her HE after all?

 A SWEET and FUNNY romantic comedy for readers of Sandy Barker and Mandy Baggot.


 My Thoughts

This is such an accomplished debut novel, with some entertaining characters and a glorious setting in the Swiss Alps. I enjoyed all the small details about life in the ski village as the snowy slopes sparkled in the sun. Holly has found herself working there after a traumatic heartbreak and she is determined to try to give herself some space to heal. There are plenty of laughs to be raised as Holly tries to take part in the Winter Sports on offer as well as her attempts to settle into the lodge. 

    This is a gentle, slow burn romance which is an entertaining read. The festive touches add to its appeal and all the delicious sounding food and drink certainly add to the atmosphere. Holly has some thinking to do as regards her future but she slowly finds some courage and self belief despite a few shaky decisions. 

In short: let it snow!

About the Author 

Carrie Walker is a Brummie born rom-com lover with a lifelong passion for travel. She has lived in a ski resort, by a beach, in the country and the city, and travelled solo through Asia, South America and Europe. Her own love life was more com than rom until she met her husband a few years ago and settled down with him and her dog Ziggy in a small pub-filled village in Essex. Writing has long been Carrie’s side hustle, penning columns and features for newspapers and magazines, while working in many other jobs. She has been the CEO of a not-for-profit, a director of a brand agency, the editor of a newspaper in Spain, a radio presenter, a football mascot, dressed up as a carrot for the BBC and now she is writing books. Escape to the Swiss Chalet is her debut novel.

You can follow Carrie here:  X (Twitter)  |  

You can follow Aria here: X (Twitter) |  Facebook  |  Instagram  

                                        |  TicTok

Purchase links 

Check out these great bloggers! 



Comments

Popular Posts