Sister of Mine by Laurie Petrou #Review #Giveaway

It is a great priviledge to welcome you to Books, Life and Everything today for Laurie Petrou's debut novel, Sister of Mine. I also have a great Giveaway to offer you today. Details on how to enter are at the foot of this post.


Steeped in intrigue and suspense, Sister of Mine is a powerhouse debut; a sharp, disquieting thriller written in stunning, elegant prose with a devastating twist. Fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door will be utterly absorbed by this compulsively readable novel. 

TWO SISTERS. ONE FIRE.  A SECRET THAT WON’T BURN OUT. 

The Grayson sisters are trouble. Everyone in their small town knows it. But no-one can know of the secret that binds them together.  Hattie is the light. Penny is the darkness.  Together, they have balance. But one night the balance is toppled. A match is struck. A fire is started. A cruel husband is killed. The potential for a new life flickers in the fire’s embers, but resentment, guilt, and jealousy suffocate like smoke. Their lives have been engulfed in flames –  will they ever be able to put them out?

My Thoughts
Claustrophobia mixed with the banal and everyday- these are the elements which I look for in a psychological thriller and you will find them in this novel in spades! The relationship between the two sisters is fascinating as you track their lives and realise that the power balance between the two of them seems to see-saw. 

    This is a fairly short but concentrated read with you never quite knowing what is going to be revealed. The two sisters hide the truth right to the end and it is a masterly finale. This is a great debut novel which keeps you guessing right to the end. 

In short: relationships are stretched beyond breaking point in this psychological thriller.  
    
About the Author



LAURIE PETROU has a PhD in Communication and Culture, and is an Associate Professor at Ryerson’s RTA School of Media in Toronto, where she is also the Director of the Masters of Media Production program. She has given several TEDx talks on subjects including gender and rejection. Laurie was the inaugural winner of the Half the World Global Literati Award in 2016, a prize that honours unpublished work featuring female protagonists, for her novel Sister of Mine. She now lives in a small town in Ontario wine country with her husband, a wine maker, and their two sons.  

You  can follow Laurie here:  Goodreads

Book link: Amazon US  |  Amazon UK



Thanks to Laurie Petrou and Anne Cater of  Random Things Tours  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 


                                                        Check out the rest of the tour!




Giveaway (UK only)





To win a copy of Sister of Mine,  just Follow and Retweet the pinned Tweet at @bookslifethings.


The prize will be three copies of the novel, each one including an exclusive handwritten 'behind the scenes' note from the author.

Closing Date 24th June 2019. 




*Terms and Conditions –UK entries only.  The winner will be selected at random via Tweetdraw from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

Comments

Post a comment

Popular Posts