The Ex-Girlfriend by Nicola Moriarty #Review

Today on the blog, I have the latest gripping thriller from the author of The Fifth Letter and Those Other Women, Nicola Moriarty. It is a mix of psychological thriller and humour, so there is much to enjoy. 
 
HE WANTS HIM BACK. SHE WANTS YOU GONE. 

Finally, Georgia has found the one. Luke is kind, handsome, and makes her feel safe - which is what she needs after everything she's been through. 

The only problem is his ex-girlfriend. 

Luke says Cadence just can't accept the breakup, and that explains the texts, the emails, the notes . . . 

But then things start to go very wrong - will Cadence really do whatever it takes to get what she wants? 

Fans of Lisa Jewell, Rachel Abbott and Adele Parks will love this tense and twisty psychological thriller. 

My Thoughts

This is certainly one of those books which keeps you guessing. You think you've spotted the twist early on but actually there are one or two surprises as well. No one can be taken at face value. The pace seems to increase as the story unfolds and it keeps you hooked all the way. 

    You actually get to see the story through several pairs of eyes which adds to the interest. What you come to realise is that there have been several throwaway lines which you might have missed which turn out to be important pointers as to what is going on. It has a contemporary feel with plenty of social media context and dating angst. There are some interesting secondary characters to give the story some colour and in all, it is an enjoyable and edge of the seat ride.

In short: Who to trust?
About the Author

 Nicola Moriarty is a novelist, copywriter and mum to two small (but remarkably strong-willed) daughters. In between various career changes, becoming a mum and studying at university, she began to write. Now, she can't seem to stop. The Fifth Letter was her UK debut novel, followed by Those Other Women

You can follow Nicola here: Website   |  Facebook   |  Twitter 
                                            |  Instagram

Book link: Amazon UK 

Thanks to Nicola Moriarty, Sriya Varadharajan of Michael Joseph, Penguin Randon House for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Catch up with the rest of the tour!

  

Comments

Popular posts