One Christmas Night by Hayley Webster #Review



One Christmas Night by Hayley Webster was published on November 14th by Orion and I am so pleased to be taking part in the celebrations for this super festive read.
Nine lives. One street. And a secret behind every door.



Christmas is ruined on Newbury Street, Norwich.



Presents have been going missing from resident's homes. There are rumours going around that it's one of their own who's been stealing from the neighbours. Festive spirit is being replaced with suspicion and the inhabitants of Newbury Street don't know who to trust. The police presence isn't helping matters, especially when they all have something to hide.



But Christmas is a time for miracles... and if they open themselves up to hope and look out for each other, they might discover the biggest miracle of all.



An uplifting novel about love, friendship, connection and community, for readers who love Joanna Cannon, Ruth Hogan and Libby Page.

My Thoughts

 Focussing in on Newbury Street in the run up to Christmas, you get to meet nine of the inhabitants and to find out what hopes, dreams, fears and secrets are lurking behind the closed doors. Although it is set near Christmas, it does not feel overly sparkly and glitzy. There are some sad and dark moments and a lot of humdrum, everyday living to see as well. However, the spirit of community and family shines through and you can see not just what divides people but also what they have in common. 

     As you get to meet each subsequent neighbour, you start to unravel the mystery of who is stealing the Christmas presents from the houses. It is a mixture of domestic crime mystery with a touch of romance which makes it stand out a little from many of the current Christmas books. It is a touching and reflective story with some down to earth characters and bucketsful of warmth and hope.

In short: 9 lives intertwine.  
 
About the Author

Hayley Webster is a writer and teacher who grew up in Newbury, Berkshire. Her first novel, Jar Baby, was published by Dexter Haven in 2012 and, as Hayley Scott, three books in her Teacup House series for emerging readers were published by Usborne in 2018. She has written for Grazia, The Observer Magazine, and did a sold-out event at Edinburgh festival in 2018. She’s a mentor on the 2019 National Writers Centre Escalator scheme and she lives in Norfolk with her daughter. 

You can follow Hayley here: Goodreads   |  Twitter  |  Facebook

Book link: Amazon UK 

Thanks to Hayley Webster and Tracey Fenton of Compulsive Readers for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Follow the rest of the tour!



 

 
 

Comments

Popular Posts