Four Weddings and a Festival by Annie Robertson #Review @orionbooks @annierauthor

The summer reads continue with today's romcom, Four Weddings and a Festival by Annie Robertson. Look out for it- it is published on July 11th by Orion Books.

Four months. Four weddings. One happy ending...?

Lifelong friends and rom-com fans Bea, Lizzie, Hannah and Kat have curled up with Bridget Jones, sobbed at Love, Actually and memorised the script to Notting Hill. They always joked about getting married in one summer - their own Four Weddings - and it seems like this might just be the year . . .

That is, until Bea turns down her boyfriend's proposal. Is her own Hugh Grant waiting for her amid the champagne and confetti? Can real-life romance ever live up to a Richard Curtis movie?
As the wedding - and festival - season gets into its swing, can all four friends find their happy ever after...?

Raise a glass of champagne and get ready for this summer's most charming romantic comedy! Perfect for fans of Sophie Ranalds, Mandy Baggot and Sue Roberts 

My Thoughts

If you have seen the film, Four Weddings and a Funeral, you will certainly enjoy all the references within this book to the film and to others by Richard Curtis. Like an in -joke running throughout, this romcom pays homage to several of his romcom films and I found it to be a thoroughly enjoyable read. The friendship group between the girls is endearing and the loyalty between them is a constant. 

    This is a light, easy read, fizzing with life. The girls all have contrasting approaches to their weddings and there are plenty of humorous moments. My favourite character has to be Aunt Jean whose wit and humour light up the pages. I was definitely rooting for her all through. Bea's search for what she really wants in life kept me going to the end.

In short: Yes actually, this is a great summer read.


About the Author

 
Annie Robertson trained in London as a classical musician, then worked as an assistant for an Oscar winner, an acclaimed artist, a PR mogul and a Beatle. After several years of running errands for the rich and famous, she went to medical school where, hiding novels in anatomy textbooks, she discovered her true passion for writing. She went on to complete a Creative Writing MA with distinction.

Annie now lives back home in Scotland. When not writing she enjoys playing the piano, swimming with her son, visiting antiques markets with her husband, and walking her Basset Hounds.

You can follow Annie here: Twitter  |  Goodreads

Book link: Amazon UK 

Thanks to Annie Robertson and Kate Moreton of the Orion Publishing Group for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Catch up with the rest of the tour!

   

Comments

Popular Posts