Skip to main content

Featured

The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath #Review

  We travel back to the 12th Century for this gorgeous historical novel, The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath . It was published by Headline Accent on 18th July. 1191 and the Third Crusade is underway . .  It is 1191 and King Richard the Lionheart is on crusade to pitch battle against Saladin and liberate the city of Jerusalem and her lands. His mother, the formidable Eleanor of Aquitaine and his promised bride, Princess Berengaria of Navarre, make a perilous journey over the Alps in midwinter. They are to rendezvous with Richard in the Sicilian port of Messina. There are hazards along the way - vicious assassins, marauding pirates, violent storms and a shipwreck. Berengaria is as feisty as her foes and, surviving it all, she and Richard marry in Cyprus. England needs an heir. But first, Richard and his Queen must return home . . . The Lost Queen is a thrilling medieval story of high adventure, survival, friendship and the enduring love of a Queen for her King.   My Thoughts

The Hub by Nicola May #Review

 

I always enjoy Nicola May's novels. Her latest, The Hub was published on August 1st by Lightning Books.


ONE TURKEY FARM, FIVE WILD COLLEAGUES AND A BARN FULL OF MYSTERY

When jilted crime writer August Saunders returns from London to her roots in rural Wiltshire, she feels lost and lacking in inspiration. Determined to reignite her writing mojo, she responds to an advert for a shared workspace in a converted barn.

At the Hub, with its ill-equipped gym, inedible catering and motley array of fellow users, including a matchmaker more interested in her own conquests and a TikToker with a dodgy nocturnal sideline, August is confronted with a real-life mystery to solve.

Why is Max Ronson, the handsome but volatile owner of the Hub, so evasive about his past? And who or what is he hiding on the premises? She is determined to find out – but will her curiosity snuff out the spark of romance?

Nicola May mixes mischief with mystery in a fast-paced rural romp which will make Futtingbrook Farm as beloved a location as Ferry Lane Market or Cockleberry Bay.

Perfect for fans of Beth O'Leary, Sarah Morgan, Jill Mansell and Cathy Bramley.


 My Thoughts

The Hub offers a great setting for a range of characters who bring humour to the story, and a sense of friendship and community. August is a likeable character with strong family ties and an interesting back story which has led to her settling back in her home village and struggling to write her latest novel. She realises that she needs to change her circumstances and goes to the Hub looking for friendship, colleagues and a sense of purpose and a designated work space. The family who owns The Hub are also an interesting bunch and there is instant chemistry between August and Max.

    There is a mystery at the heart of the story which highlights some difficult issues and lifts the story to another level. I am not sure if this is a standalone or part of a possible new series. Certainly, there is enough potential in the setting and characters to sustain a series so I am hoping for more. Nicola May is an experienced writer and it shows through the quality of the writing and the drafting of the characters.

In short: Friendship, community and a mystery to unwrap.

About the Author


Nicola May is a rom-com superstar. She is the author of sixteen romantic comedies, all of which have appeared in the Kindle bestseller charts. Her books are translated into fourteen languages. Two of them won awards at the Festival of Romance, and another was named ebook of the week in The Sun. The Corner Shop in Cockleberry Bay became the best-selling Kindle book in the UK, across all genres, in January 2019, and was Amazon’s third-bestselling novel in that year. Described by Winifred Robinson of BBC Radio 4’s You and Yours as ‘the invisible bestselling author’, Nicola campaigned successfully for the introduction of ebook charts in the publishing trade press.

You can follow Nicola here: Website  | Facebook  | Twitter 
 | Instagram  
     
Book link: Amazon UK |  Amazon US 
 
Thanks to Nicola May, Lightning Books  and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a place on the tour and a copy of the book.
 
Check out these great bloggers!
 

Comments

Popular Posts