Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

The Christmas Swap by Sandy Barker #Review

 

The Christmas Swap by Sandy Barker will be published on October 16th by One More Chapter. I am delighted to tell you about this festive read. 


Christmas is coming and best friends Chloe, Jules, and Lucy are needing change… so swapping homes for the holidays could be the perfect present for all of them!

Australian Chloe spends her Christmas in a sleepy village in Oxfordshire, England. She is totally star-struck when she discovers who lives across the road.

Lucy, who has jetted off to snowy Colorado for her dream-come-true white Christmas, is taken into the fold of Jules’s loud and brash family, discovering more about herself in a few short days than she has in years.

And Jules leaves the cold climes of Colorado to spend her Christmas on a beach with Chloe’s friends in Melbourne, finding that time away is just what she needed.

The only thing better than one Christmas romance is three, and this wonderful festive novel is perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Holly Martin and Karen Swan.


 My Thoughts

 In this festive read, you follow three different friends who all swap their usual Christmases and travel thousands of miles to do so. This gives you three gorgeous settings and in effect, three storylines to follow. Because of the contrasting settings, the storylines stay distinct and it is easy to pick up each one. With three narratives running concurrently, you are sometimes left on a cliffhanger but in all, it makes for a really enjoyable read.

    The three girls, Chloe, Lucy and Jules are quite different in personality and so are the men who they get to meet. Stepping out of their comfort zones results insome surprisingevents and they get to test themselves and reconsider what they actually want to do. I enjoyed the three contrasting Christmases, with their different customs and family traditions. Friends and family are centre stage in this book and this results in a great feelgood, festive read. 

In short: Oxfordshire, Colorado  -  Christmases to remember.Melbourne


About the Author


Sandy Barker is a writer, traveller and hopeful romantic with a lengthy bucket list. She loves exploring new places, outdoor adventures, and eating and drinking like a local when she travels, and many of her travel adventures have found homes in her novels. She’s also an avid reader, film buff, wine lover and coffee snob.

You can follow Sandy here:  Twitter

                                               |  Facebook  |  Instagram   |  Website

Book links: Amazon UK   |  Kobo  |  Apple Books   |  Foyles                                |  Waterstones 

Thanks to Sandy Barker, One More Chapter and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.  

 

Check out the rest of the tour!

 

 


Comments

  1. Many thanks for joining the tour and for this lovely review!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts