Skip to main content

Featured

The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath #Review

  We travel back to the 12th Century for this gorgeous historical novel, The Lost Queen by Carol McGrath . It was published by Headline Accent on 18th July. 1191 and the Third Crusade is underway . .  It is 1191 and King Richard the Lionheart is on crusade to pitch battle against Saladin and liberate the city of Jerusalem and her lands. His mother, the formidable Eleanor of Aquitaine and his promised bride, Princess Berengaria of Navarre, make a perilous journey over the Alps in midwinter. They are to rendezvous with Richard in the Sicilian port of Messina. There are hazards along the way - vicious assassins, marauding pirates, violent storms and a shipwreck. Berengaria is as feisty as her foes and, surviving it all, she and Richard marry in Cyprus. England needs an heir. But first, Richard and his Queen must return home . . . The Lost Queen is a thrilling medieval story of high adventure, survival, friendship and the enduring love of a Queen for her King.   My Thoughts

The Other Woman by Amanda Brookfield #Review #BoldwoodBooks

 


 Amanda Brookfirld's psychological thriller  The Other Woman was published by Boldwood Books on 13th October. 

'No one gets to the heart of human relationships quite so perceptively as Brookfield.' The Mirror

On a normal day, in a normal house, on a normal street, wife and mother Fran has had enough. She packs a case, leaves a note for her bullying husband Pete, and one for her beloved twenty-year-old son Harry, and heads to the airport - and freedom.

In another house, on another street, Helena is desperately baiting her husband Jack into a fight. These days it feels like the only way to get Jack to take notice of her. Passionate, volatile, increasingly fragile, Helena is fast running out of hope.

What Helena and Fran don’t know, is that soon their lives are going to come crashing together in ways neither expect nor understand. And if Fran and Helena are going to change their own futures, then first they will have to change each other’s.

Amanda Brookfield is back with a triumphant, crackling story about love, marriage, lies and fate, and how our destinies can be changed by the smallest decisions. Perfect for fans of Sheila O'Flanagan, Jane Fallon and Jane Green.


 My Thoughts

I particularly like the structure of this thriller, with different sections which give you the perspective of different women. You realise that they are partly giving you different sides of the same tale and that each woman makes assumptions which may not be right. In the first section, you follow Fran's story and feel the claustrophobic nature of her life, caught under the power of her husband. You silently urge her to leave him but as you discover, life is not always that straight forward. When the focus changes to Helena, you meet a complicated character who initially is quite difficult to like. She seems self-centred but you slowly see the other pressures which are in the background of her life.

    You are given several marriages to examine in this story. Two of them have abusive strands but in Fran's brother, Rob's, you see a much more equal partnership which is suffering from different pressures. Children seem like witnesses to their parents' marriages, even when grown-up and you are always aware that what appears on the surface, may be very different behind the scenes. There is plenty of suspense and some stand-out scenes which will stay in your memory. 

In short:  Anatomy of marriages

About the Author



Amanda Brookfield is the bestselling author of many novels including Good Girls, Relative Love and Before I Knew You, and a memoir, For the Love of a Dog starring her Golden Doodle Mabel. She lives in London.

You can follow Amanda here:  Website

 |  Facebook  |  Instagram   |  Twitter

  | Goodreads   | Mailing list sign up  

Book link: Amazon UK

Thanks to Amanda Brookfield, Boldwood Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 

Check out the rest of the tour!


 

Comments

Popular Posts