Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

Coming Home to Penvennan Cove by Linn B Halton #Review

We're heading back to Cornwall for Linn B Halton's Coming Home to Penvennan Cove which will be published by Aria on October 8th.

Can Kerra's Cornish hometown offer the fresh start she needs?

When Kerra left the quiet Cornish town of PenvennanCove for the bright lights of London she didn't look back. But after the death of her mother, she's decided it's time to face her past and return to the place she called home. Her father needs her, and perhaps she needs him more than she's willing to admit?

Tackling town gossip, home renovations and a flame from her past, it's not quite smooth sailing for Kerra. Ross is the bad boy she was meant to forget, not a man who still sets her heart aflutter. As he helps bring her dream home to life, they begin to break down the barriers that have been holding them back and in the process learn things about themselves they never thought possible.

As friends old and new come together, the future in Penvennan looks bright.

Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, PhillipaAshley and Julie Houston.

My Thoughts

 The main character in this novel is easy to like and relatable. You get to find out quite a bit about Kerra as the story enfolds and you can see that the girl she was when she lived at Penvennan Cove moulded the woman she has become. She has a firm hold on what she now wants to do and what is important in life to her. She is quite determined not to let anyone into her life who cannot be trusted. She is also shown to be fiercely loyal to those she trusts and a great sense of looking out for her family and friends.

    I found Ross to be much harder to get to know. He seems to be quite guarded and self contained but through his actions, you come to realise his good points. This is very much a 'starting again' novel with the message that it is never too late for a second chance. The setting is gorgeous and I must say Kerra's vision for her cottage sounds amazing. As the community comes together and more than one person gets a second chance to shine, the story blossoms like an endearing, feelgood friend. 

In short: It's never too late...

 

About the Author


From interior designer to author, when Linn B. Halton's not writing, or spending time with the family, she's either upcyclingfurniture or working in the garden. Linn won the 2013 UK Festival of Romance: Innovation in Romantic Fiction award; her novels have been short-listed in the UK's Festival of Romance and the eFestival of Words Book Awards. Living in Coed Duon in the Welsh Valleys with her 'rock', Lawrence, and gorgeous Bengal cat Ziggy, she freely admits she's an eternal romantic. Linn is a member of the Romantic Novelists' Association and the Society of Authors. Linn writes feel-good, uplifting novels about life, love and relationships.

You can follow Linn here:

Website   |  Facebook   |  Twitter

Book Links: Amazon UK   |  Kobo  |   Google Play   |  iBooks

 Thanks to Linn B Halton and Aria Books  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

                                                             Follow the rest of the tour!
 

 

 

Comments

  1. Thank you so much for being on the tour, Pam, and for taking the time to read and review! Happy Wednesday, lovely!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts