Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

If Everyday was Christmas by Donna Ashcroft #Review

 

Today's festive read is absolutely brimful of Christmas cheer. If Everyday was Christmas was published on 8th October by Bookoutre.

 
Snow is falling, fires are crackling merrily, and Lockton tradition has everyone hanging a promise they’re determined to keep this Christmas on the tree in the village square…

Meg Scott has promised to make a success of her first solo Christmas. She runs a year-round Christmas shop in the little Scottish village, and is a fan of all things mulled, sparkly and festive. So when her warring family shows up on her doorstep, ready to spread discord and tension, Meg is determined not to let them ruin her favourite time of the year.

Meanwhile, Christmas-hating Tom Riley-Clark has been called to the Highlands to help his old friend at The Apple Cross Inn. He’s ready to work hard and has no time for mince pies, tinsel or hanging a promise on the tree: the thought of every day being Christmas is his worst nightmare, and you wouldn’t catch him dead buying a bauble. So everyone is surprised when Christmas-loving Meg and grinch Tom start to get cozy under the mistletoe.

But Tom has a big secret about his past, and in a small town like Lockton it’s hard to keep anything hidden for long. Will everything fall apart when Meg discovers who he really is? The pair are about to learn the hard way that some promises are impossible to keep…

It’s time to curl up for an enchanting festive romance about learning to trust yourself, taking chances and not being afraid to fall in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola May, Debbie Macomber and Milly Johnson.

My Thoughts

This is a delightful festive read, full of all the details which make up a heart-warming, festive reads. The pace of the story is just right and I also found the characters likeable and well drawn. There is a real community feel between the villagers. There are one or two who are not immediately so symppathetic but you come to understand why.

    With a beautiful snowy, Scottish setting, the stage seems set for the story to unfold. As some wrestle whether they can trust again, you are willing them to take a leap of faith. Meg seems to embody the Christmas spirit with her optimism and sparkly costume. She doesn't take herself seriously and immerses herself in all things festive. Her relationship with her family is far from straightforward but friends and family are centre stage in the story. This is a great Christmas read and one of my favourites this year - so far!

In short: Christmas promises. 

 

About the Author

c. Vanessa Champion

 
   Donna Ashcroft was born in London and  grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager. 

Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017. 

 
Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she's escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she's not reading or writing she'll probably be found hoovering ... or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

You can follow Donna here: 

Website: www.donna-writes.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DonnaAshcroftAuthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Donnashc

 

Book link: Amazon UK 

 

Thanks to Donna Ashcroft and Bookoutre for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.  

Follow the rest of the tour!

 


 
 

Comments

Popular Posts