A Christmas Date by Camilla Isley ** Blog Tour Review**

More festive books today with Camilla Isley's Romantic Comedy A Christmas Date. It is part of the series, First Comes Love, which consists of interconnected romantic novels. However, each book in the series can be read as a standalone.



No one wants to be single at the holidays.
Even Little Miss Grinch, Nikki, a successful and independent woman, must face her bachelorette status at the most horrible time of the year.

December is her personal version of holly-jolly hell: a merry torture made of couples kissing at every corner, forced vacation days, and an inescapable family reunion.

And when her baby sister announces she’s engaged—to Paul, the man Nikki is secretly in love with—and that he’s spending the holidays with them, Christmas starts looking bluer than ever.
Nikki can’t possibly survive an entire week trapped home as the family’s spinster. But she has no time to meet men or to try the newest dating app, she’s too busy working as a video producer for an advertising agency. 

So what’s a girl to do?

Nikki has the perfect solution: to hire a fake boyfriend.

Luckily, her job gives her access to an endless catalog of gorgeous actors to choose from.

But Nikki will soon discover that keeping business and pleasure from mixing isn’t so easy, and that she might not be immune to a little mistletoe magic. Especially not when she picked out the perfect man as her Christmas date...

A fun, festive romantic comedy with lots of bad behavior and Christmas spirit. Like a creamy hot chocolate with marshmallows, you won’t want to put this deliciously hilarious novel down. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sally Thorne, and Jo Watson.


My Thoughts

This is a great light- hearted Christmas read. Although the plotline of hiring someone to impersonate a boyfriend has been done before, it still feels quite fresh. I think this is because of the central character, Nikki and her relationships with her younger sister and her best friend. Once you see the dynamic between the three, you realise some of the motivations that Nikki and her sister have had in the past and how they have ended up in the position they are in.

    Full of family and friendship, this book is never going to be anything other than a feelgood, festive read. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it immensely. The third in a series, it can definitely be read as a standalone. There are some genuinely funny moments and enough play acting on Nikki's part to keep you amused.

In short: festive fun and romance.

About the Author



Camilla is an engineer turned writer after she quit her job to follow her husband on an adventure abroad.

She’s a cat lover, coffee addict, and shoe hoarder. Besides writing, she loves reading—duh!—cooking, watching bad TV, and going to the movies—popcorn, please. She’s a bit of a foodie, nothing too serious. A keen traveler, Camilla knows mosquitoes play a role in the ecosystem, and she doesn’t want to starve all those frog princes out there, but she could really live without them.

You can follow Camilla here: Facebook   |  Twitter   |  Goodreads 
                                              | Bookbub   |  Instagram  | Pinterest

 Book link: Amazon US   |  Amazon UK  |  Amazon Geo-linked 
               |  iBooks  |  Barnes and Noble  |  Kobo   |  Google Play  

Thanks to Camilla Isley and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Catch up with the rest of the tour!

 

Comments

Popular Posts