Skip to main content


Far from Home by T A Williams #Review #BeneathItalianSkiesBook3

  As ever, I am delighted to feature another romance by T A Williams , set in beautiful Italy. Far from Home was published by Canelo on May 9th. The secrets of the past will unlock her future… Working in the fast-paced foreign exchange market in Canary Wharf, Amy never expected her job to drive her to collapse. With her doctor advising she take a month off work, when Amy receives a solicitor’s letter informing her of a surprise inheritance in Italy, the timing couldn’t be more perfect. But who on earth has left her a house in the sleepy Tuscan hills? As she gets to know the town and its inhabitants, Amy discovers more about the mysterious man who named her in his will. Shocking family secrets come to light, leaving Amy questioning the life she knew. The town of Sant’Antonio holds more than just secrets. Here, Amy meets Adam, a renowned TV journalist whose documentaries take him to dangerous places. But as their attraction grows, so do Amy’s worries. Her life is in England,

Starting Over at the Crafty Bee Barn by Margaret Amatt #Review #GlenbriarSeriesBook7


 We are returning to beautiful Scotland  for Margaret Amatt's seventh in her Glenbriar  Series, Starting Over at the Crafty Bee Barn. This latest novel was published on 23rd March by Leannan Press.

 You can read my review of the first, Stolen Kisses at the Loch View Hotel here and the second, Just Friends at Thistle Lodge here and the third, Pitching up at Heather Glen here, the fourth, Two's Compamy at the Forest Lights Show here, the fifth, Highland Fling on the Whisky Trail here and the sixth Snowdown at the Old Schoolhouse here 

Starting Over at the Crafty Bee Barn

Luckless Lilah Clarke needs a big break, but getting caught wrecking a stall at the Glenbriar Fair was not what she had in mind – especially when the man who catches her is as hot as a summer’s day and sends her heart racing.

Charity campaigner Aidan McBride has returned to Glenbriar after a long absence to discover the love of his life dating his cousin, his cottage in tatters, and his beloved bees gone. When he catches Lilah destroying his mum’s stall and discovers the reason, he sees something in her he can’t explain – or resist.

Feeling sorry for her, he offers her a job, and she reluctantly accepts. What other options does she have? Now, it isn’t just Aidan’s new bees that are buzzing. Lilah dreams of Aidan being hers, but for someone with a background like hers, he’s well out of her reach.

Still stung by the loss of his ex, Aidan struggles with his ever-growing attraction to Lilah. But if he doesn’t spit out exactly how he feels about her before her past catches up with her, he stands to lose the real love of his life.

 My Thoughts

This is such an enjoyable series. You get to meet up again with some familiar faces, but the cast of characters gets larger as Lilah and Aidan enter the story. Aidan is having to come to terms with the fact that everything has changed whilst he has been away and an awful lot needs putting back together again. His family certainly have their faults and seem self absorbed but underneath it allis genuine love and affection. This is something which Lilah has never had and her fight of flight impulse is always near the surface. Despite her street sense, she shows that she has a kind and caring side and is desperate for somewhere she can call home.

    This is a romance full of starting over moments and second chances. There is a light-hearted tone to it and you do find yourself rooting for the characters to do well. I love the series, but if you happen to pick it up, this can be read as a standalone. There is plenty to enjoy but also a glimpse at the less privileged lives which some inhabitants live. 

In short: A fresh start


About the Author

Margaret is a bestselling Scottish author and chocolate lover who has been writing stories for over twenty years (possibly more if you count her primary school efforts). Her early works will never see the light of day and are locked in dusty vaults on some old floppy disks. But after all those years of practise, Margaret released her first novel in 2021. It was the first of a ten-book series set on the gorgeous Scottish Isle of Mull.

Margaret is also the author of the acclaimed Glenbriar Series, based in the fictional Scottish town of Glenbriar. This is an on-going series with more books coming in 2024.

The stories are unashamedly romantic but with lots of drama and an eclectic mix of characters. Each

book can be read as a standalone but followers of the series will enjoy catching up with the characters.

You can follow Margaret here:  Facebook  |  Instagram  |  Twitter 


 Purchase links  | 


 Thanks to Margaret Amatt, Leannan Publishers and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Check out the rest of the tour!



Popular Posts