Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper #Review

Today I am delighted to be featuring Emma Cooper's The First Time I Saw Your Face on the blog. 

 Lost: Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin.  Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes. If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Before Sophie met Samuel she saw the world in grey. Before Samuel met Sophie, he never believed in love at first sight.
When they first meet, something tells them they are meant to be.  But fate has other ideas. 


Now they have lost each other and can't see a way back. But they've already changed each other's lives in more ways than they ever expected...


From the author of The Songs of Us comes a love story that will ‘break your heart but put it back together again’, (Katie Fforde). Fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper.

                                                                                     My Thoughts
 This was an emotional read which certainly swept me along with the story. The main characters are such a contrast at the beginning but you come to see that they have a lot of similarities in their insecurities. I was certainly surprised at the turn that the story took but it was all good for all that. Families play a large part in the story and there are some interesting scenes between the various siblings. My favourite part had to be Samuel's family's reaction to Sophie, particularly his father. 

    Both Sophie and Samuels' lives go through tremendous changes as the story develops. By the end, there is a hopeful theme and a heart-warming tone but it is an emotional read until the very last page. Nevertheless, there are some lighter parts and laughs along the way. In all, this is a lovely romance with some striking visual scenes. 

In short: Getting back to basics- friends and family values.

                                                                              About the Author

 Emma Cooper is a former teaching assistant, who lives in Shropshire with her partner and four children. She spends her spare time writing novels, drinking wine and watching box-sets with her partner of twenty-four years, who still makes her smile every day. Emma has always wanted to be a writer - ever since childhood, she’s been inventing characters (her favourite being her imaginary friend ‘Boot’) and is thrilled that she now gets to use this imagination to bring to life all of her creations. 

Find her on Twitter at @ItsEmmacooper@ and on Instagram at @itsemmacooper


Book links: Amazon UK

Thanks to Emma Cooper and Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

 

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular Posts