The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden #Review #Giveaway


I am delighted to be taking part in the celebrations for Katharine Arden's The Winter of the Witch. This literary fantasy, set in 14th century Russia concludes her Winternight Trilogy. The Winter in the Witch follows The Bear and the Nightingale and The Girl in the Tower.

I also have a great giveaway for you where you can win a paperback copy of the book. ( UK /Ireland only) Details on how to enter are at the foot of this post. 


One girl can make a difference... Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers - and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic. Then a vengeful demon returns, stronger than ever. Determined to engulf the world in chaos, he finds allies among men and spirits. Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya's shoulders. But she may not be able to save them all.


A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials.


                                                            What people are saying...
 
'heart-stoppingly good...beautifully written, this adventure shimmers and shines with magic of all kinds. Unmissable.              ' 
                                                                         Sunday Express '


If you're a lover of fairytales you are in for an absolute treat. It's truly magical'                                                    The Pool '


Katherine Arden's Winternight Trilogy isn't just good-it's hug-to-your-chest, straight-to-the-favourites-shelf, reread-immediately good, and each book just gets better. '               Laini Taylor


                                                                                     My Thoughts

When writing about the final part in a trilogy, you always have to be careful about giving away too much of the plot and the eventual outcome. I'm going to do my very best not to cross any lines! The aspect of the story which I enjoyed the most is the atmosphere which is evoked. This magical realism tale seems rooted in history and fairy/ folk tales and the environment which has been created is marvellous. The tantalising descriptions of the different landscapes are so vivid and detailed that you can really visualise the scenes.

   As the story twists and turns, there are some truly emotional parts. Beneath the fairy tale and folk aspects there are some darker themes as the established church is set against the demons of the fantasy world. Vasya is a worthy central figure with an independent streak which never leaves her.You feel her anguish as she is pulled between family ties, magic and loyalty. This is an evocative and imaginative piece of writing. Light and shade, darkness and dusk, mystery swirls around.

In short: In the land of Midnight, magic and mystery lie.

    
                                                                              About the Author

Born in Austin, Texas, Katherine Arden spent her junior year of high school in Rennes, France.

Following her acceptance to Middlebury College in Vermont, she deferred enrolment for a year in order to live and study in Moscow. At Middlebury, she specialized in French and Russian literature.

After receiving her BA, she moved to Maui, Hawaii, working every kind of odd job imaginable, from grant writing and making crêpes to serving as a personal tour guide. After a year on the island, she moved to Briançon, France, and spent nine months teaching. She then returned to Maui, stayed for nearly a year, then left again to wander. Currently she lives in Vermont, but really, you never know.

She is the author of The Bear and the Nightingale and The Girl in the Tower.



These novels make up the first two parts of The Winternight Trilogy.

You can follow Katharine here: Twitter   |  Instagram   |  Facebook 
                                                 |  Pinterest  |  Website  

Book link: Amazon UK

Thanks to Katherine Arden and Anne Cater  of Random Things Tours for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

                                                               Follow the rest of the tour!


                                                           Giveaway (UK/Ireland only) 



To win a paperback copy of The Winter of the Witch, just Follow and Retweet the pinned Tweet at @bookslifethings.

 Closing Date October 8th 2019 and there is one winner.

*Terms and Conditions –UK/Ireland entries only.  The winner will be selected at random via Tweetdraw from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

Comments

Post a comment

Popular Posts