Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

Pepper River Inn by K T Dady #Review #PepperBayBook6

Pepper River Inn is the sixth in the Pepper Bay series by K T Dady. I am delighted to be on the tour to celebrate its publication.  You can read my reviews of others in the series here,  Starlight Cottage |   Honeybee CottagePepper Pot Farm | Lemon Drop Cottage

  |  The Post Office Shop .

 
Welcome to Pepper Bay. A small close-knit community where you’ll find chocolate box cottages, quaint shops, love drama, and a happily ever after.

Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin.

The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories, best when read in order, that intertwine with recurring characters.

Pepper River Inn: There has been a longstanding family feud in Pepper Bay between the Renshaws and the Trents, and it’s about to get even more messy.

Rosie and Belle Trent have just inherited their uncle’s rundown hotel and have decided to see if they can rebuild the unloved business. They don’t rate their chances of having a successful inn, not with the perfect one right next door owned by Elliot and Ned Renshaw.

The two sisters and two brothers aren’t meant to be friends, so when Elliot saves Rosie from drowning and they fall in love, it’s down to Belle and Ned to keep the family feud alive. All they have to do is continue to hate each other. How hard can it be?


 My Thoughts

In the sixth of this series, we meet two sets of siblings whose families have had a longstanding, if mysterious, bitter feud. They each own half of what used to be the Pepper River Inn. Now split into two halves, Elliot and Ned own a well- run and beautifully furnished hotel. Rosie and Belle find that the half they have inherited is a rundown shell of complete neglect. There are some amusing moments as the two sets of brothers and sisters stake out their claims. You also get to find out that their views on the future of the hotels are not set in stone.

    Each of the four central characters have their own backstory and much of the book revolves around their issues and how they are moving on with their futures.  Belle and Rosie, in particular, have to work out whose affections are sincere and how they see their futures. The community of Pepper Bay is as strong as ever and supportive when needed. With the setting offering a gorgeous backdrop to the story, this is an enjoyable read with just a few festive touches to add some sparkle.

In short: starting over and facing the past.

About the Author

Bestselling author of the Pepper Bay series, mum to one grown-up daughter, chocolate lover, and a huge fan of a HEA. I was born and raised in the East End of London, and I’ve been happily writing stories since I was a little girl. I published my first romance book in 2020, and I have loved writing about soulmates ever since. When I’m not writing, I’m mostly reading, usually romance stories, but I do like the occasional thriller.

 You can follow K T Dady here: Website  |  Twitter   |  Instagram

Book links: Amazon UK   |  Amazon US  

Thanks to K T Dady and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.  

Check out the rest of the tour!

Comments

Popular Posts