Skip to main content

Featured

Second Chance Summer by Phillipa Ashley #Review

  I an delighted to be part of the celebrations for Phillipa Ashley's Summer novel, Second Chance Summer which was published by Penguin on June 6th. From the moment Lily Harper arrives at a remote retreat on the breath-taking Scilly Isles, she is itching to get back to civilisation - and her thriving business. Slowing Down simply isn't in her vocabulary, and so she quickly clashes with the gorgeous but dour Sam who runs the retreat. Just as Lily is about to give up and leave, disaster strikes, and she is involved in an incident that changes her perspective on everything. Lily is no longer sure she wants to return to the life she thought she loved. But will she have the courage to give the retreat, and Sam, a second chance? Praise for the Author ‘Full of genuine warmth and quirky characters’   Woman’s Own ‘Filled with warm and likeable characters. Great fun!’ Jill Mansell ‘Utterly glorious … one of the freshest voices to emerge in women's fiction today’   Cl

Pepper River Inn by K T Dady #Review #PepperBayBook6

Pepper River Inn is the sixth in the Pepper Bay series by K T Dady. I am delighted to be on the tour to celebrate its publication.  You can read my reviews of others in the series here,  Starlight Cottage |   Honeybee CottagePepper Pot Farm | Lemon Drop Cottage

  |  The Post Office Shop .

 
Welcome to Pepper Bay. A small close-knit community where you’ll find chocolate box cottages, quaint shops, love drama, and a happily ever after.

Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin.

The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories, best when read in order, that intertwine with recurring characters.

Pepper River Inn: There has been a longstanding family feud in Pepper Bay between the Renshaws and the Trents, and it’s about to get even more messy.

Rosie and Belle Trent have just inherited their uncle’s rundown hotel and have decided to see if they can rebuild the unloved business. They don’t rate their chances of having a successful inn, not with the perfect one right next door owned by Elliot and Ned Renshaw.

The two sisters and two brothers aren’t meant to be friends, so when Elliot saves Rosie from drowning and they fall in love, it’s down to Belle and Ned to keep the family feud alive. All they have to do is continue to hate each other. How hard can it be?


 My Thoughts

In the sixth of this series, we meet two sets of siblings whose families have had a longstanding, if mysterious, bitter feud. They each own half of what used to be the Pepper River Inn. Now split into two halves, Elliot and Ned own a well- run and beautifully furnished hotel. Rosie and Belle find that the half they have inherited is a rundown shell of complete neglect. There are some amusing moments as the two sets of brothers and sisters stake out their claims. You also get to find out that their views on the future of the hotels are not set in stone.

    Each of the four central characters have their own backstory and much of the book revolves around their issues and how they are moving on with their futures.  Belle and Rosie, in particular, have to work out whose affections are sincere and how they see their futures. The community of Pepper Bay is as strong as ever and supportive when needed. With the setting offering a gorgeous backdrop to the story, this is an enjoyable read with just a few festive touches to add some sparkle.

In short: starting over and facing the past.

About the Author

Bestselling author of the Pepper Bay series, mum to one grown-up daughter, chocolate lover, and a huge fan of a HEA. I was born and raised in the East End of London, and I’ve been happily writing stories since I was a little girl. I published my first romance book in 2020, and I have loved writing about soulmates ever since. When I’m not writing, I’m mostly reading, usually romance stories, but I do like the occasional thriller.

 You can follow K T Dady here: Website  |  Twitter   |  Instagram

Book links: Amazon UK   |  Amazon US  

Thanks to K T Dady and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.  

Check out the rest of the tour!

Comments

Popular Posts