Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

The First Date by Zara Stoneley #Review

We are back with Zara Stoneley today for her latest romcom, The First Date, whichj is published by One More Chapter on June 25th. I always enjoy her books and you can read my reviews of Bridesmaids here , The Wedding Date here and Four Christmases and a Secret here.

Right place.

Right time.

Wrong guy …


After breaking up with her childhood sweetheart, clueless dater Rosie has found herself in a boyfriend-drought. So when she finally swipes right on a guy who seems interested, she can’t wait to meet up in person.

Until she’s left standing alone. In a bar. Stood up.

Enter Noah. Confident, funny … and a serial first dater. Offering to give Rosie a crash course in seduction, this could be just what she needs. Until her matchmaker turns out to be the best date she’s ever had – and Rosie wonders if she wants the fake dates to be the real ones after all …

A hilarious, heartwarming romantic comedy about what happens when the wrong guy turns up at the right time, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Mhairi McFarlane.
From the USA Today bestselling author of The Wedding Date!


My Thoughts

This is a fun read which is light and fast paced. I enjoyed the banter between Rosie and Noah which takes a gentle prod at so-called dating advice. Rosie has some issues to settle in her mind and can't help but measure the men she meets against her father's behaviour. Her relationship with her mother is another dimension, especially as you get to see what she actually feels about her 30 year marriage. 

    There are plenty of light-hearted scenes to keep your attention. Both Noah and Rosie have friends who add some colour and give you a little insight into their characters.  Interestingly, I did find the first chapter a little difficult to get into but once it had started, I felt swept along. For entertainment and escapism, give it a try!

In short: A romcom with plenty to offer.
 
About the Author

 Zara Stoneley is the USA Today bestselling author of 'The Wedding Date'.

She lives in a Cheshire village with her family, a lively cockapoo called Harry, and a very bossy (and slightly evil) cat called Saffron.

Born in a small village in the UK, Zara wanted to be a female James Herriot, a spy, or an author when she grew up. After many (many) years, and many different jobs, her dream of writing a bestseller came true. She now writes about friendship, dreams, love, and happy ever afters, and hopes that her tales make you laugh a lot, cry a little, and occasionally say 'ahhh'.

 Zara’s bestselling novels include 'Bridesmaids', 'No One Cancels Christmas', 'The Wedding Date', 'The Holiday Swap', 'Summer with the Country Village Vet', 'Blackberry Picking at Jasmine Cottage' and the popular Tippermere series - 'Stable Mates', 'Country Affairs' and 'Country Rivals'.

You can follow Zara here: Website | Twitter | Facebook 
| Instagram | Bookbub| Amazon Author Page

Book links: Amazon UK

Thanks to Zara Stoneley and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 
 
Take a look at these great bloggers!
 
 

Comments

Popular Posts