Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

The Perfect Couple by Jackie Kabler #Review

If you enjoy a psychological crime thriller, you will definitely like this one! The Perfect Couple by Jackie Kabler was published by One More Chapter on 17th April 2020. You can read my interview with Jackie here.

The perfect couple … or the perfect lie?

A year and a half ago, Gemma met the love of her life, Danny. Since then, their relationship has been like something out of a dream. But one Friday evening, Gemma returns home to find Danny is nowhere to be seen.
After two days with no word from her husband, Gemma turns to the police. She is horrified by what she discovers – a serial killer is on the loose in Bristol. When she sees the photos of the victims she is even more stunned … they all look just like Danny.
But the police aren’t convinced by Gemma’s story. Why has no one apart from Gemma seen or heard from Danny in weeks? Why is there barely a trace of him in their flat? Is she telling them the truth, or are there more secrets and lies in this marriage than meets the eye?

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Shari Lapena and Lisa Jewell

 My Thoughts

This is a well plotted thriller which keeps you engaged through all the twists and turns to the end. Although the ending wasn't a complete surprise, I wasn't disappointed as there were several scenarios which presented themselves throughout the story, any of which I could have believed in. For me, there are two aspects of this story to follow. First there is the central mystery as to where is Danny and what exactly has been going on between him and Gemma. Then there is the police investigation with several great characters and their own preoccupations and friendships.

     Set in Bristol, you get a good sense of place as Gemma starts to investigate Danny's disappearance for herself.  It is refreshing to find that the police investigation itself does not go smoothly and several mistakes are both made and owned. This is an entertaining page turner which I am sure will surprise and which keeps you thinking. 

In short: A page turner of a crime thriller.   


About the Author



Jackie Kabler worked as a newspaper reporter and then in television news for twenty years, including nearly a decade on GMTV. She later appeared on BBC and ITV news, presented a property show for Sky, hosted sports shows on Setanta Sports News and worked as a media trainer for the Armed Forces. She is now a presenter on shopping channel QVC. Jackie lives in Gloucestershire with her husband. 

 

You can follow Jackie here: Twitter   |  Website   |  Instagram

Book link: Amazon UK 

 Thanks to Jackie Kabler, One More Chapter and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Check out the rest of the tour!

 

Comments

Popular Posts