Skip to main content

Featured

Coming Home to Roseford Villas by Fay Keenan #Review

  Today we return to the series by Fay Keenan set in the Somerset village of Roseford. Coming Home to Roseford Villas was published by Boldwood Books on 12th April.   Aurora Henderson and Leo McKendrick were love’s young dream when they first dated as teenagers. But like many a first love, parents, life, and distance got in the way, and the couple lost touch. Now, twenty years later, Aurora – Rory to her friends – needs a break. Burnt out from her teaching career and longing to write a novel, Rory heads to the idyllic village of Roseford for a summer of writing and relaxation. Leo needs a change too. Ex-pat life in Australia has come to a sticky end so the opportunity to run his family’s B&B, Roseford Villas, for the summer is too good to turn down. Neither Rory nor Leo believe in fate, but when Leo opens the door to his latest guest, he might just have to reconsider. And when a sultry summer fills with nostalgia and memories and six weeks flies by too fast, love’s young

Art and Soul by Claire Huston #Review

Art and Soul is Claire Huston's debut novel and was published on April 23rd by Goldcrest Books.

There’s no problem Becky Watson can’t fix. Except her own love life…

Struggling single mother Becky Watson longs to revive her career as a life-fixer, working miracles to solve her clients’ problems, no matter how big or small. Since the birth of her two-year-old son she has been stuck preventing wedding fiascos for the richest and rudest residents of the Comptons, a charming, leafy area of southern England known for its artistic heritage. 

So when semi-reclusive local artist Charlie Handren reluctantly hires Becky to fix his six-year creative slump, she’s delighted to set him up with a come-back exhibition and Rachel Stone, the woman of his dreams. 

Though they get off to a rocky start, Becky and Charlie soon become close. But as the beautiful Rachel becomes Charlie’s muse, Becky is forced to wonder: will giving Charlie everything he wants mean giving up her own happily ever after? 

 A heart-warming, uplifting romance served with a generous slice of cake. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Katie Fforde and Cathy Kelly.


My Thoughts

This is a romance with a fairy tale feel which is bright and uplifting. There are some moments of humour and you cannot help but warm to Becky as she sets about fixing up the lives of the artist Charlie and his daughter. But she doesn't stop there. She has quite an effect on a whole range of people. The weddings which she attends to make sure everything goes to plan will make you smile, as will Charlie's over keen Art students. Charlie's struggle to express himself other than though his painting is a challenge but you soon see his basic goodness through his actions.

    If you enjoy cake, you will also appreciate the references to it throughout. In fact, Claire has all the recipes on her own website for you to try. (Link is in the bio). I also enjoyed the odd literary reference which is littered throughout, with Becky seeing herself as Mephistopheles on occasion. With money worries and a small child to bring up, Becky is relatable but is determined to succeed on her own. This slowly evolving romance is charming and a great debut novel. 

In short: Independent Life fixer meets a diffident artist.

   
About the Author

 Claire Huston lives in Warwickshire with her husband and two children. Art and Soul is her first novel.

A keen amateur baker, she enjoys making cakes, biscuits and brownies almost as much as eating them. You can find recipes for all the cakes mentioned in Art and Soul at www.clairehuston.co.uk along with over 100 other recipes. This is also where she talks about and reviews books.

As well as her website, you can find her on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram and Goodreads: linktr.ee/clairehuston_author

 Book link: Amazon UK

Thanks tp Claire Huston and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Follow the rest of the tour!

  

Comments

  1. Thank you for your lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it and delighted someone else likes the literary references as well as me - haha!
    Thank you for being part of the blog tour. I really appreciate it x

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts