Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

When We Were Friends by Samantha Tonge #Review

 

I always love a novel by Samantha Tonge and her latest, When We Were Friends lives up to expectations. It was published by Boldwood Books on October 4th. 


Four friends, one big secret... and the journey of a lifetime.

It’s nineteen years since they stopped speaking to each other, but now Morgan needs to contact her three best friends from school: Paige, Emily and Tiff.

Her teenage son wants to meet his dad and Morgan can’t ignore his requests any longer. And Paige, Emily and Tiff all knew what actually happened back then. Even if that was what led to their friendship group falling apart, they’re the only people Morgan can think of who might be able help her find the man who disappeared without a trace before she could tell him she was pregnant.

Can Morgan persuade her old friends to go on a road trip to track him down? As adults – with marriages, children and a whole bucket-load of their own problems – will they be able to work together to solve the mystery? And if so – just when forgiveness for the past looks like it might be possible – how will they cope with the biggest shock of all?

A story about love, families and how the people who know you best are the ones you will always need in your life. Totally heartbreaking, brilliant, uplifting fiction for fans of Jill Mansell, Paige Toon and Sheila O’Flanagan.


 My Thoughts

You can tell by the title that friendship is absolutely central to the story. Four school friends, mow grown up and estranged, come together to solve a mystery which shocks them each. Dredging up memories from the past, you see how they all had secrets at the time and in fact, have secrets now, which gradually percolate to the surface. Each of the characters are quite different in personality and talents and it is interesting to see how their lives have panned out.

    Family is also linked into the story, in all sorts of ways, not always good. The girls, as school friends, had a tight bond but it is surprising how quickly that seemed to dissolve. One of the points of the story is to see how resilient friendship can be. You soon realise that people had different motives for their behaviour and often were trying to protect themselves. Teenage insecurities around behaviour and appearance were so important at the time. I did find that there are several genuinely surprising elements to the story and one huge shocker of a secret which I had not seen coming. 

In short: highly recommended for well -drawn characters and an entertaining plot.


About the Author

Samantha Tonge is the bestselling and award-winning author of fifteen romantic fiction titles published by HQ, and most recently Aria. Her first book for Boldwood, Under One Roof, will be published in February 2022 and marks a broadening of her writing into multi-generational woman’s fiction. She lives in Manchester with her family.

 

You can follow Samantha here: Twitter   |  Facebook   |  Website  |  Instagram  |  Newsletter Sign Up  |  Bookbub profile

Book links: Amazon UK 
        
Thanks to Samantha Tonge, Boldwood Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the event.
 
Check out these great bloggers!
 

 


 


Comments

Popular Posts