Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

The Christmas Love Letters by Sue Moorcroft #Review

 

I am absolutely thrilled to be on a festive blog tour to celebrate Sue Moorcroft's latest novel. The Christmas Love Letters was published by Avon on October 26th

 
A secret romance was just the start of the story…

Tucked into a crook of the Norfolk coast lies Nelson’s Bar – an idyllic village where time seems to stand still. Maddy Cracey has called this beautiful spot home all her life, as had her husband Adey – until an epic row sent him storming out into a blizzard, with no sign of him since that fateful night.

Six years on, and Maddy’s life in the village has settled into a gentle pattern with her young daughter and Great Aunt Ruthie. However, when handsome stranger Raff turns up with a handful of long-forgotten love letters, their quiet life is upended as family secrets from the past are unearthed.

As Raff and Maddy get to know each other, they grow closer and a love story of their own seems inevitable. But when Maddy receives a mysterious message, she can’t help but wonder whether her own past is as distant as she'd thought it was…

The festive new novel about love, family and the power of words from Sunday Times bestseller Sue Moorcroft, perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Phillipa Ashley.


 My Thoughts

This has all the ingredients for a lovely festive read. Set in a beautiful village in the depths of winter, there is plenty of glistening snow and snowman building. The countdown to Christmas Day takes you to some welcoming festive fairs and school events. Most of all, there is all the warmth that goes along with family gatherings. These families are not all related through blood, though some are. Deep supportive friendships reinforce a sense of belonging. Of course, not everyone in the story is so warm and fuzzy. There is jealousy, mean mindedness and abandonment along the way.

    Maddy’s  relationship with her great aunt and daughter is the most touching and you see how she tries so hard to be generous and welcoming to people she hopes will be positive in their lives. Running through the story is a rich seam of romance through Ruthie’s love letters. They seem as if from a different world compared to the modern text messages which can be so misinterpreted. However, you realise that people’s feelings are pretty much universal. Raff finds himself in the middle of a complicated situation, trying to please everyone. Both Raff and Maddy feel on the outside at times but both have a strong feeling of family. I enjoyed the different characters, especially Lyla, Maddy’s daughter, whose wide eyed wonder and ability to put the grown ups in an embarrassing position because of her ‘innocent ‘ remarks made me smile. You won’t be disappointed with this fabulous Christmas story. 

In short: five twinkly stars


About the Author


Sue Moorcroft is a Sunday Times bestselling author and has reached #1 spot on Amazon Kindle UK as well as top 100 in the US. She’s won the Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award, Readers’ Best Romantic Novel award and the Katie Fforde Bursary. Sue’s emotionally compelling, feel-good novels are currently released by publishing giant HarperCollins in the UK, US and Canada and by other publishers in other countries. Her short stories, serials, columns, writing ‘how to’ and courses have appeared around the world.

Born in Germany into an army family, Sue spent much of the rest of her childhood in Cyprus and Malta but settled in Northamptonshire, England aged ten. She loves reading, Formula 1, travel, time spent with friends, dance exercise and yoga.

Newsletter sign-up: here

You can follow Sue here:  Website  |  TwitterFacebook Author PageFacebook |  Blog  |  Instagram   |  Linkedin  |  Street Team
    
Book link: Amazon UK   |  Amazon US  |

Thanks to Sue Moorcroft, Avon Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Check out these great bloggers!
 
 



 

 


Comments

  1. Thanks so much for your fabulous review, Pam! I'm delighted you enjoyed the book so much. Sorry to be tardy with this comment. I did try last night from my phone, but Google defeated me! :-) Very best wishes.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts