Skip to main content

Featured

The Fascination by Essie Fox #Review #Giveaway

   Today be prepared for a dark, Victorian gothic novel! The Fascination by Essie Fox is published on June 22nd by Orenda . For the chance to win a print copy of The Fascination see the foot of this post for details. Victorian England. A world of rural fairgrounds and glamorous London theatres. A world of dark secrets and deadly obsessions… Twin sisters Keziah and Tilly Lovell are identical in every way, except that Tilly hasn't grown a single inch since she was five. Coerced into promoting their father's quack elixir as they tour the country fairgrounds, at the age of fifteen the girls are sold to a mysterious Italian known as ‘Captain’. Theo is an orphan, raised by his grandfather, Lord Seabrook, a man who has a dark interest in anatomical freaks and other curiosities … particularly the human kind. Resenting his grandson for his mother’s death in childbirth, when Seabrook remarries and a new heir is produced, Theo is forced to leave home without a penny to his

Take a Moment by Nina Kaye #Review

Nina Kaye's Take a Moment was published by Canelo on 9th September. I am delighted to be taking part in the celebrations for this romcom.


Life is better lived in the moment

Meet Alex. She has a wonderful fiancĂ©, a job she thrives in, and a best friend she’s known since childhood. Life’s not perfect, but it’s pretty fantastic. Until a shock diagnosis suddenly throws everything off course.

But Alex has never been one to back down from a fight. Now single and unemployed, she packs up and moves from her Glasgow hometown to vibrant Birmingham for a fresh start. In a new job, in a new city, she’s learning all over again what’s important in life.

Friendship, fun and even romance lie just around the corner – but can Alex get out of her own way and learn to just take a moment, and live?

A stunning, uplifting romance for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Jo Watson.


 My Thoughts

This is a warm, uplifting story with an edge. Alex appears to have everything going for her until a life-changing diagnosis comes like a bolt from the blue. You see her true character as she tries to come to terms with its implications and stand on her own feet. Despite the serious issue which is always in the background, Alex still seeks to challenge herself and tries to find a way for herself to succeed. 

    You also see the effect of Alex's diagnosis on her family, friends and colleagues. Some seem to want to smother her independence and to frame their view of her always through the prism of her illness. Nevertheless, Alex's positivity and self-belief emerge despite her moments of vulnerability. Alex also has to balance her wish to be independent with allowing some people to care for her. At its heart is an amusing romcom with a gentle romance. Built on medical issues familiar to the author, you feel the credibility of Alex's reactions

In short: a romcom with some serious issues at its heart

About the Author


Nina Kaye is a contemporary romance author who writes warm, witty and uplifting reads with a deeper edge. She lives in Edinburgh with her husband and much adored side-kick, James. In addition to writing, Nina enjoys swimming, gin and karaoke (preferably all enjoyed together in a sunny, seaside destination). Nina has previously published The Gin Lover’s Guide to Dating and has also been a contender for the RNA Joan Hessayson Award.
 

You can follow Nina here:  Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Instagram 

Book links:  https://geni.us/TakeAMomentEbook  |  https://geni.us/TakeAMomentPrint

Thanks to Nina Kaye, Canelo and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 

Check out the rest of the tour!

 


 


 

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular Posts