Skip to main content

Featured

Second Chance Summer by Phillipa Ashley #Review

  I an delighted to be part of the celebrations for Phillipa Ashley's Summer novel, Second Chance Summer which was published by Penguin on June 6th. From the moment Lily Harper arrives at a remote retreat on the breath-taking Scilly Isles, she is itching to get back to civilisation - and her thriving business. Slowing Down simply isn't in her vocabulary, and so she quickly clashes with the gorgeous but dour Sam who runs the retreat. Just as Lily is about to give up and leave, disaster strikes, and she is involved in an incident that changes her perspective on everything. Lily is no longer sure she wants to return to the life she thought she loved. But will she have the courage to give the retreat, and Sam, a second chance? Praise for the Author ‘Full of genuine warmth and quirky characters’   Woman’s Own ‘Filled with warm and likeable characters. Great fun!’ Jill Mansell ‘Utterly glorious … one of the freshest voices to emerge in women's fiction today’   Cl

Take a Moment by Nina Kaye #Review

Nina Kaye's Take a Moment was published by Canelo on 9th September. I am delighted to be taking part in the celebrations for this romcom.


Life is better lived in the moment

Meet Alex. She has a wonderful fiancĂ©, a job she thrives in, and a best friend she’s known since childhood. Life’s not perfect, but it’s pretty fantastic. Until a shock diagnosis suddenly throws everything off course.

But Alex has never been one to back down from a fight. Now single and unemployed, she packs up and moves from her Glasgow hometown to vibrant Birmingham for a fresh start. In a new job, in a new city, she’s learning all over again what’s important in life.

Friendship, fun and even romance lie just around the corner – but can Alex get out of her own way and learn to just take a moment, and live?

A stunning, uplifting romance for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Jo Watson.


 My Thoughts

This is a warm, uplifting story with an edge. Alex appears to have everything going for her until a life-changing diagnosis comes like a bolt from the blue. You see her true character as she tries to come to terms with its implications and stand on her own feet. Despite the serious issue which is always in the background, Alex still seeks to challenge herself and tries to find a way for herself to succeed. 

    You also see the effect of Alex's diagnosis on her family, friends and colleagues. Some seem to want to smother her independence and to frame their view of her always through the prism of her illness. Nevertheless, Alex's positivity and self-belief emerge despite her moments of vulnerability. Alex also has to balance her wish to be independent with allowing some people to care for her. At its heart is an amusing romcom with a gentle romance. Built on medical issues familiar to the author, you feel the credibility of Alex's reactions

In short: a romcom with some serious issues at its heart

About the Author


Nina Kaye is a contemporary romance author who writes warm, witty and uplifting reads with a deeper edge. She lives in Edinburgh with her husband and much adored side-kick, James. In addition to writing, Nina enjoys swimming, gin and karaoke (preferably all enjoyed together in a sunny, seaside destination). Nina has previously published The Gin Lover’s Guide to Dating and has also been a contender for the RNA Joan Hessayson Award.
 

You can follow Nina here:  Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Instagram 

Book links:  https://geni.us/TakeAMomentEbook  |  https://geni.us/TakeAMomentPrint

Thanks to Nina Kaye, Canelo and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 

Check out the rest of the tour!

 


 


 

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular Posts