Skip to main content

Featured

Second Chance Summer by Phillipa Ashley #Review

  I an delighted to be part of the celebrations for Phillipa Ashley's Summer novel, Second Chance Summer which was published by Penguin on June 6th. From the moment Lily Harper arrives at a remote retreat on the breath-taking Scilly Isles, she is itching to get back to civilisation - and her thriving business. Slowing Down simply isn't in her vocabulary, and so she quickly clashes with the gorgeous but dour Sam who runs the retreat. Just as Lily is about to give up and leave, disaster strikes, and she is involved in an incident that changes her perspective on everything. Lily is no longer sure she wants to return to the life she thought she loved. But will she have the courage to give the retreat, and Sam, a second chance? Praise for the Author ‘Full of genuine warmth and quirky characters’   Woman’s Own ‘Filled with warm and likeable characters. Great fun!’ Jill Mansell ‘Utterly glorious … one of the freshest voices to emerge in women's fiction today’   Cl

A Perfect Cornish Escape by Phillipa Ashley #Review

How lovely to have a new Phillipa Ashley novel to read! I thoroughly enjoyed her A Perfect Cornish Christmas and I was delighted to read A Pertfect Cornish Escape which is another in her Porthmellow Harbour series.

Summer in Cornwall is the perfect time for a fresh start…

Seven years ago, Marina Hudson’s husband was lost at sea. She vowed to love him forever – but when kind-hearted Lachlan arrives in Porthmellow, should she deny herself another chance at happiness?

Tiff Trescott was living life to the full as a journalist in London – until her boyfriend’s betrayal brought it all crashing down. Fleeing to her cousin Marina’s cottage, Tiff feels like a fish out of water. And when brooding local Dirk wins a day with her in a charity auction, she’s thrown headfirst into Cornish life.

This summer promises new beginnings for both Tiff and Marina. But are they too good to be true?

Escape to Cornwall with this emotional, uplifting read from the bestselling author of A Perfect Cornish Summer and A Perfect Cornish Christmas. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Trisha Ashley.

My Thoughts

I found this to be an engrossing read. Apart from the fact that it really was a great escape to immerse myself in Cornwall, I also loved the back story with its links to the sea and the emergency services. There are several people in this story who are 'escaping to Cornwall' and Marina herself has tried to shut out the horror of what has happened to her with the disappearance of her husband. 

    The community feeling in Porthmellow really comes over and I love the slightly quirky characters who you meet in this story. In addition, the main characters are all rounded characters with their own histories. You have a really strong sense of the setting at all times and in some ways, the setting is always present throughout the story. For a lovely Summer read with great characters and an eventful plot, I can recommend this read.

In story: Escape to Cornwall.  
About the Author

Phillipa Ashley is a popular author of numerous bestselling Amazon and Bookseller Heatseekers romantic novels. Before she became a full-time writer, she studied English at Oxford and worked as a copywriter and journalist.

She also writes rom coms as Ashley Croft and steamy romance as Pippa Croft.

You can follow Phillipa here:   

Book link:  Amazon UK

Thanks to Phillipa Ashley and Ellie Pilcher of  Harper Collins for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 


Comments

Popular Posts