How to find Love in the Little Things by Virginie Grimaldi ** Blog Tour Review** #LittleThings



I have a super novel for you today in the form of How to find Love in the Little Things by Virginie Grimaldi. It was first published in France in May 2016 and became an instant bestseller, translated into multiple languages. Headline published yesterday on 23rd August 2018 in the UK in paperback.
 

'Welcome to Ocean View. You don't know it yet, but you'll be happy here...'

Julia's not running away. Not exactly. She just needs a break from Paris and Marc and all the sad stuff that's been going on lately. A little time to pull herself together.

The job offer felt like a lifeline. But now she's back in Biarritz, suitcase in hand, she hasn't the faintest idea what she was thinking.

What Julia doesn't yet know is there's more to the odds and ends of Ocean View than meet the eye. Behind the double doors lie broken hearts, lifelong secrets, a touch of romance and an unwavering passion for life. And sometimes it's the most unlikely of places and people who help you find your way.


Fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecelia Ahern and The Little Paris Bookshop will love this funny, moving and heartwarming read from runaway summer bestseller Virginie Grimaldi.


'A gorgeous story, charming and funny and poignant' Nicola Cornick

'An uplifting journey of loss, romance and secrets' Culturefly
 


My Thoughts

I always enjoy novels which blend together humour and pathos and this one ticks both those boxes for me. In the inhabitants of Ocean View, Virginie Grimaldi has created a wonderful community of characters who all bring their own idiosyncratic flavour to the story. They are not just there to provide a bit of humour and eccentricity. They all have something quite profound to teach Julia about grasping the moment and finding love in all the little things. This is one of those truly heart-warming and life- enhancing reads which is never sugary or over- sentimental.

    I was quite surprised at how the story developed. It is one of those stories with a secret hiding in plain sight. Julia's inner struggle to come to terms with her loss and grief is never over-written but part of her all the same. The chapters are grouped into sections as each month passes and that, together with the short chapters, makes this an ideal summer read for when you are on holiday. You can put it down and pick it up and keep your bearings with the story. 

In short: warm, thoughtful and touching writing.  
 
About the Author

 

Virginie Grimaldi grew up in Bordeaux and has wanted to be a writer for as long as she can remember. She wrote her first novel aged eight in a green notebook with multiplication tables in the back. It was about love and the sea and featured a thirty-page-long sunset . . .

You can follow Virginie here:  
Twitter     |  Instagram   |  Website

Book link: Amazon UK 

Thanks to Virginie Grimaldi and Anne Cater of Random Things Tours  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.  


Be sure to check out the rest of the tour! 

 



Comments

Post a Comment

Popular Posts