Deep Fear by Rachel Lynch ** Author Interview**


It is great to welcome Rachel Lynch to Books, Life and Everything to answer some of my questions and to talk about her latest novel, Deep Fear. This crime thriller was released on 21st May 2018 and
will appeal to fans of Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and Robert Bryndza.

DI Kelly Porter is back. But will this new case push her beyond her limits?


On a peaceful summer's morning in the Lake District, a woman's body is discovered outside a church. She's been murdered and a brutal, symbolic act performed on her corpse. DI Kelly Porter is in charge of the team investigating the crime, and is determined to bring the killer to justice. But as more deaths occur it is clear this is the work of a disturbed, dangerous and determined individual. Can Kelly put the puzzle pieces together before the danger comes closer to home?
 

Welcome to Books, Life and Everything, Rachel. Thank you so much for agreeing to answer some questions on my blog about your writing.

Would you like to start by telling us a little about yourself and how you started as a writer?

 Writing has always been something that has been my dream job. I was a History teacher for twelve years and a personal trainer for ten. I now write full time and it’s a dream come true. I suppose before that, other careers and children took all of my time. Eight years ago, my husband was sent to Buenos Aires for his job and I couldn’t work, so I sat down and wrote my first novel.

What is it about the crime genre which attracts you? 



I love the crime genre because, at the end of the day, it’s all about good triumphing over evil, and I love that!

Without giving away the plot, can you tell us a little about Deep Fear


Deep Fear is set in The Lake District and follows Detective Inspector Kelly Porter and her team as she investigates a series of gruesome murders. The murderer leaves a chilling message on each of the bodies and Kelly has to piece together the puzzle before it gets too close to home.

How do you go about making sure that the procedural aspects of your plot are accurate? 
 

 I talk to several police officers, retired and still serving, and I like to be authentic in my work; that’s really important to me. I also like to make the life of the detective real outside of their job, because they’re people with relationships, chores and finite hours in the day, and they have to juggle that with intense investigations. They also have to relax.

DI Kelly Porter is a central character. How did you create her? 


Kelly evolved over time. I wanted a strong woman, because many senior detectives in fiction are men. I wanted her to love hiking the fells, and so I made her physically fit to match her personal integrity and mettle. I wanted to make her relatable so I gave her some issues in her personal life to complicate her work/life balance, and she’s not particularly good at it, like me! Her indomitable spirit and integrity seemed to emerge naturally and match the stories around her. I’m proud of Kelly, and I like writing about her.

What are your writing routines and where do you do most of your writing?


My writing routine is utterly erratic! I have a thirteen year old daughter and an eleven year old son who take the majority of my time. I try and write during any spare moment I get and so I could be writing until ten o’clock at night, or for four hours while they’re at school, and then nothing for the rest of the day. I write at a desk in an oak extension on the back of the house that gets a lot of sun, it’s beautiful in there and very calming. Sometimes I listen to music. I get irritable if I miss a day; even if it’s only a thousand words.

What do you like to read when you are not writing?


My writing routine is utterly erratic! I have a thirteen year old daughter and an eleven year old son who take the majority of my time. I try and write during any spare moment I get and so I could be writing until ten o’clock at night, or for four hours while they’re at school, and then nothing for the rest of the day. I write at a desk in an oak extension on the back of the house that gets a lot of sun, it’s beautiful in there and very calming. Sometimes I listen to music. I get irritable if I miss a day; even if it’s only a thousand words.

Finally, have you three words which sum up Deep Fear
 
Dark. Twisting. Unconventional.

Well that certainly sounds intriguing! Thank you so much for talking to us today. 

                                                                About the Author



Rachel Lynch grew up in Cumbria and the lakes and fells are never far away from her. London pulled her away to teach History and marry an Army Officer, whom she followed around the globe for thirteen years. A change of career after children led to personal training and sports therapy, but writing was always the overwhelming force driving the future. The human capacity for compassion as well as its descent into the brutal and murky world of crime are fundamental to her work.


You can follow Rachel here: Twitter 

Book links: Amazon UK   |  Kobo UK   |  Google Books UK 
                 |  Apple Books UK

Thanks to Rachel Lynch and Ellie Pilcher  of Canelo for a copy of the book and a place on the tour. 

Comments

Popular Posts