Skip to main content

Featured

Coming Home to Roseford Villas by Fay Keenan #Review

  Today we return to the series by Fay Keenan set in the Somerset village of Roseford. Coming Home to Roseford Villas was published by Boldwood Books on 12th April.   Aurora Henderson and Leo McKendrick were love’s young dream when they first dated as teenagers. But like many a first love, parents, life, and distance got in the way, and the couple lost touch. Now, twenty years later, Aurora – Rory to her friends – needs a break. Burnt out from her teaching career and longing to write a novel, Rory heads to the idyllic village of Roseford for a summer of writing and relaxation. Leo needs a change too. Ex-pat life in Australia has come to a sticky end so the opportunity to run his family’s B&B, Roseford Villas, for the summer is too good to turn down. Neither Rory nor Leo believe in fate, but when Leo opens the door to his latest guest, he might just have to reconsider. And when a sultry summer fills with nostalgia and memories and six weeks flies by too fast, love’s young

This is Us by Helen McGinn #Review

 

Today we have a lovely, uplifting read by Helen McGinn. This is Us was published by Boldwood Books on 10th September. 


A story about friends, sisters, motherhood and starting again – one day at a time...

Stella fell in love with Simon hard and fast. He was everything she wanted in a husband, and he seemed to feel the same way about her. More than a decade of marriage later, life is sweet. They have three much-wanted children, a successful business, and a comfortable London home. What more could Stella possibly want?

But then, out of the blue, Simon is gone. Vanished. No one knows where he’s gone or why.

Now Stella, with the help of her friends and family, has to pick up the pieces of her and her children’s life, all the while wondering what she missed. Was her husband who he said he was, and can she trust her own memories of their life together?

Helen McGinn’s latest novel is a love story to friendship, sisters, motherhood and starting again – one day at a time. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Noble, Cathy Kelly and JoJo Moyes.


 My Thoughts

There are some marvellous characters to get to know in this novel. Principal among these is Stella, who finds her life turned upside down with the disappearance of her partner, Simon. With the help of her friends, and family, Stella has to rebuild her life and make some difficult decisions. I loved the trips Stella made with her  book club friends to Italy, such an interlude in her life.

    There is a real hopeful tone to the story and you always have a belief in Stella's ability to keep going, even if she sometimes doubts this herself. Friendship and family are key to Stella and to your enjoyment of the story. It is an entertaining and comfortable read which you can really relax into. As a reader, you feel you are in good hands with Helen McGinn.

In short: warm, uplifting tale of starting over

About the Author


Helen McGinn is a much-loved wine expert on TV and in print and an international wine judge. She spent ten years as a supermarket buyer sourcing wines around the world before setting up her award-winning blog (and now best-selling wine book) The Knackered Mother’s Wine Club. She is the drinks writer for the Daily Mail and regularly appears on TV’s Saturday Kitchen and This Morning. Helen lives in the New Forest.

You can follow Helen here: Facebook |  Twitter  |  Instagram

                                          |  Newsletter sign up   |  Bookbub 

Book link: Amazon UK

Thanks to Helen McGinn, Boldwood Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour

                                                         Check out the rest of the tour!


 

Comments

Popular Posts