Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter

Just One Day -Summer by Susan Buchanan #Review #JustOneDayBook3 #Giveaway

 


Today I am happy to be featuring the third in  Susan Buchanan's series, Just One Day- Summer. I also have a great giveaway for you to enter, with the chance to win a signed copy. Details are at the foot of this post. 

 'Gorgeous, glorious and uplifting. A delight to read.' (Christie Barlow)

 

List-juggling, business-owner mum-of-three Louisa is reeling after a tragedy, as well as learning how to cope after a life-changing revelation. With oil worker husband Ronnie possibly being able to move onshore, she hopes he can help her manage the burden.

But the secrets she keeps are causing her headaches and she's unsure if her ability to make good decisions has deserted her. All she seems to do is upset those around her.

With Louisa's to-do list gathering pace at an incredible speed, will she manage to provide a stable home for them all, embrace her new normal as well as rebuild their life from what's left?

And if she gets what she has always wanted, will it match up to her expectations?

For fans of Milly Johnson, Sarah Morgan and Heidi Swain.


 My Thoughts

I picked this series up at Book 3 and although I was able to read it as a standalone, I am sure you would get more out of the story is you started at the beginning of the series. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the story and became invested in Louisa's story. She certainly emerged as a determined and resourceful figure who did have moments of feeling swamped by life's problems. Her relationship with Ronnie was quite difficult to second guess but overall, this is an uplifting story with some genuine humour.

    Louisa's everyday life seems hectic to say the least and I enjoyed the antics of her family- especially when they found themselves in a luxury hotel suite. This is a light-hearted look at life and as Louisa juggles all the elements of her life, I looked forward to reading her never-ending to-do lists which seemed to keep her going. This is an entertaining and warm story and with another in the series to come, more to look forward to.

In short: an entertaining look at family life

About the Author



 

Susan Buchanan lives in Scotland with her husband, their two young children and a crazy Labrador called Benji. She has been reading since the age of four and had to get an adult library pass early as she had read the entire children’s section by the age of ten.

Susan writes contemporary fiction, often set in Scotland, usually featuring travel, food or Christmas. When not working, writing, or caring for her two delightful cherubs, Susan loves reading (obviously), the theatre, quiz shows and eating out – not necessarily in that order!

You can follow Suzanne here: Facebook   |  Twitter   |  Website
  |  Instagram

 Book Links: Books2Read   
 

Thanks to Susan Buchanan and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources   for a copy of the book and a place on the event.
 
                                                         Check out these great bloggers!
 

                                                                        Giveaway (UK only)
 

 

Giveaway to win a Signed copy of  Just One Day – Summer (Open to UK Only) just follow the link below and good luck!

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

Popular Posts