Skip to main content

Featured

The Wartime Book Club by Kate Thompson #Review

  The Wartime Book Club is a marvellous historical novel set on Jersey in World War Two. Written by Kate Thompson , it was published by Hodder $ Stoughton on February 13th. Jersey, 1943. Once a warm and neighbourly community, now German soldiers patrol the cobbled streets, imposing a harsh rule on the people of the island. Grace La Mottée, the island's only librarian, is ordered to destroy books which threaten the new regime. Instead, she hides the stories away in secret. Along with her headstrong best friend, postwoman Bea Rose, she wants to fight back. So she forms the wartime book club: a lifeline, offering fearful islanders the joy and escapism of reading. But as the occupation drags on, the women's quiet acts of bravery become more perilous - and more important - than ever before. And, when tensions turn to violence, they are forced to face the true, terrible cost of resistance . . . Based on astonishing real events, The Wartime Book Club is a love letter



 The Last Act of Adam Campbell will be published by Hodder Paperbacks on the 29th April 2021.

Adam has twelve months to fix his life, before his time runs out.

A year can go quickly. Particularly when it's your last.

Adam had a pretty good life: a job he enjoyed, a nice house, a loving partner and a bright energetic six-year-old daughter. Then he cheated on his partner. Then she kicked him out of their home. And then he was given approximately twelve months live.

Despite the devastating news, Adam is determined to turn his life around before it finally runs out. Help comes in the form of an ex-junky, a cantankerous train driver, a nun experiencing a crisis of faith, and a teenager intent on losing her virginity - all living on borrowed time, all desperate to feel alive before their time is up.


 This beautifully written and heart-warming book is perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls. 

 

My Thoughts

This was a thought provoking and emotional read which took me by surprise. There is an element of black humour behind the story as most of the characters are faced by their mortality and the subject matter could be a trigger for some people. The people Andy meets are a richly varied bunch who all have a story to tell. However, it is Andy himself who takes centre stage and his relationship with his daughter and ex-partner is poignant and touching. 

    The group decide to put on a play based on a mash -up of deaths from Shakespeare plays. There are plenty of emotional moments and you can't help but empathise with the feelings of lost opportunities which Adam has to face up to. There is plenty to think about regarding what matters in life and the effect of terminal disease on the wider family and friends. This is an honest look at life which is raw at times but a rewarding read. 

In short: An emotional but never downhearted look at mortality.
 
 
About the Author

  In one form or another, Andy has always been a writer. At school, he passed notes in class and scribbled rude words on lamp posts. At university, he wrote a PhD in biochemistry and forged tickets to various balls, and as an advertising copywriter, he has written adverts for everything from baby food to booze. But it wasn’t until he was well into his thirties that Andy started writing fiction. If he could write a letter to his younger self, it would urge him to stop messing about and get on with it. Andy lives in London with his wife and two little girls. Chances are, he’s writing something.

Find Andy on Twitter and Instagram, and on Facebook.

Book link: Amazon UK  pre-order before 29th April 2021 

Thanks to the author and Jenny Platt of Hodder and Stoughton for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Follow the rest of the tour! 
 

 


Comments

Popular Posts