Prosecco and Promises by A L Michael ** Blog Tour Review & Extract**


Having read and reviewed A L Michael's Cocktails and Dreams, I was delighted to be able to take part in the blog tour to celebrate her next novel, Prosecco and Promises. Indeed, Savvy, Mia's best friend who was the focus of Cocktails and Dreams features here too, so there is a familiar feel about the characters.

I also have an extract from Prosecco and Promises to tempt you with. Before we get to that, here's a little more about the book.
 

Meet Mia: an unforgettable heroine learning the meaning of life and love on a beautiful Italian island. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Lucy Vine.


Mia’s dad has always been her idol. Now, she faces losing him and he is insisting that she leave England to visit her mother’s family on the Italian island of Ischia.


Arriving on the island, Mia is embraced by the warm, crazy relatives she hardly knows. Despite her doubts about the trip, it is in Italy that Mia discovers connections to a part of her life that’s been missing, and during the sun-soaked days and steamy nights Mia falls for handsome local Salvatore. But as the day of her departure draws nearer can she risk having her heart broken twice in one summer?

Extract



My phone rang, and I tensed, seeing Marjorie’s number flash up on the screen. Already? Had it happened the minute I left the house and I could go back before being forced to endure what he sent me for – a sun-soaked trip down memory lane?


‘Marjorie, has it—’

She cut me off. ‘No, no, no!’ She tried for a soothing tone, her voice low and calm. Even that pissed me off. ‘Take a breath, Mia, all is well. Repeat it back, all is well…’

‘I am not fucking repeating that. Why are you calling?’

‘We just wanted to make sure you landed safely.’ The hurt echoed down the phone, but I didn’t have time to baby Marjorie. She was meant to be looking after my father. She said she was strong enough, and yet a snide comment from me sent her into a snit. I seriously doubted her ability to deal with this. More than I doubted my own.

‘Well, maybe a text message would be better, considering the circumstances?’ I huffed. There was silence on her end, and I snorted to myself that if she was waiting for an apology, she’d be waiting a while. I’d called her a heinous gold-digging bitch to her face when I met her for the first time, years ago. I still hadn’t apologized for that.

‘Tell him I landed safely, Marjorie.’

‘I will.’ The snotty response came quicker than expected, but she paused, letting the silence settle down the telephone line, before a quiet ‘bye’ and the double beep of a cancelled call.

‘The stepmonster?’

I nodded my head, adjusting my sunglasses, staring out at the water.

‘You think maybe you’re a little old to act like a child who hates her wicked stepmother?’

‘You think you’re a little bit of a stranger to be giving me advice?’

Nikki’s head jerked back, and then she nodded, once. 

I was curt, that was my thing. Most people, when they knew me, found it endearing. Well, Savvy, who’d known me since childhood, and Jacques, who’d known me a few months. And Dad, who’d known me for ever. I didn’t really let anyone else near enough to have much of an opinion.

‘I’m sorry, I’m just… no, there’s no excuse, that’s just my personality.’ I shrugged. ‘Take it or leave it.’

‘Mia, we’re blood, strangers or not. And every damn person you meet on that island is going to give you advice you didn’t ask for. We’re Italian, and we’re your family.’

I nodded once, saying nothing, wondering why that final sentence made my eyes water just a bit.



 My Thoughts

The extract above gives some idea of what makes this such an enjoyable read- it is the character of Mia herself. Hurting because of her Dad's illness, dreading the next phone call, she doesn't waste time on pretence. She acts before she thinks sometimes and at others, wears her heart on her sleeve. A little bit spikey and vulnerable, she takes us with her.

    There are some difficult moments in this story but there are also some uplifting moments. The setting is fabulous, you can really visualise the island of Ischia with its sunshine and stunning scenery. It is a perfect place for Mia to be. It seems to envelop her, blotting out what may be happening back in London. The more you find out about Mia's history, the more you empathise with her. Her Italian family add to the colour and feeling of warmth and acceptance. I also enjoyed revisiting The Martini Club back in London and look forward to the next in the series.

In short: an emotional but uplifting read.


About the Author
 
A.L. Michael is hurtling towards the end of her twenties a little too quickly. She is the author of 10 novels. Her most recent collection of books, The Martini Club Series, started with Cocktails and Dreams, to be followed by Prosecco and Promises, and Martinis and Memories. She likes to write about difficult women. Well, they say to write what you know. Andi works as a Content Writer, as well as a therapeutic facilitator. She has a bunch of degrees in stuff to do with writing, and wrote her MSc dissertation on the power of creative writing in eating disorder recovery. She truly believes stories can change your life.

You can follow her here: Twitter   |  Facebook  |  Website  

Book links: Amazon UK  |  Kobo  |  Google Books UK
                |  Apple Books UK

Thanks to A L Michael, and Ellie Pilcher of Canelo  for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Check out what these great bloggers have to say!

Comments

Popular Posts