Wedding Bells at Butterfly Cove by Sarah Bennett ** Blog Tour Interview & Giveaway **

I'm welcoming Sarah Bennett to Books, Life and Everything today. Her second book in the Butterfly Cove series, Wedding Bells at Butterfly Cove, is just out and she's very kindly agreed to answer some of my questions. There is also the chance for one lucky person to win a notebook, a necklace and a £10 Amazon voucher (sorry, UK only). Details on how to enter are at the end of this post.  First of all, to put you in the picture, here's a little about her book:


A second chance by the sea?


When Kiki Jackson’s marriage falls to pieces, there’s only one place that she knows she can escape to – her sister’s little guesthouse in Butterfly Cove.



But she’s worried that turning up on bride-to-be Mia’s doorstep, especially with her two adorable children in tow, will spoil her sister’s imminent wedding plans!



Luckily, handsome neighbour Aaron Spenser offers to share his new cottage with Kiki until she’s back on her feet. And as the wedding draws closer, Kiki realises that Butterfly Cove may be offering her little family more than just a new home…



Maybe this is where her new life begins…?



An uplifting and heartwarming read, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Rachael Lucas and Hilary Boyd.




Welcome to  Books, Life and Everything, Sarah. Thank you so much for agreeing to answer some questions on my blog about your writing.



Would you like to start by telling us a little about yourself and how you started as a writer?



I am a military spouse and I started writing a few years ago as something to keep my distracted whilst my husband was on deployment in Afghanistan. The book I wrote then ended up being Sunrise at Butterfly Cove. In 2015, I was given an opportunity to write something for a shared world paranormal romance series and spent the next 12-18 months writing novellas for a small press. It was a brilliant experience and really helped me to craft my writing skills. I never stopped thinking about Butterfly Cove though and I decided to try and revive the project. I submitted it to HQ Digital in August 2016 and here I am!


What is it about the romance genre which attracts you?



I don’t think romance always receives the credit it deserves. There is no other genre which can deliver so many diverse stories and leave you with the satisfaction of a happy ending. I read widely across the genre – everything from cyborgs, dystopian fantasies to sweet small town romance. Romance readers are amongst the most loyal and most demanding readers out there as well as the most generous and supportive. I love everything about the romance writing world.



Wedding Bells at Butterfly Cove is the second in a planned Butterfly Cove trilogy. Why did you decide to write a trilogy and have you got the three stories planned out?


I started out just writing a single book, but I was about a third of the way in when Mia decided she wasn’t an only child. I ended up with three sisters, and each of them wanted their own story.



Was writing the second story harder than the first?



Although Wedding Bells wasn’t the second book I’ve written, the popularity of the series really surprised (and thrilled!) me. Once I realised lots of people were reading Sunrise, I put myself under a great deal of pressure and the words just wouldn’t flow the way they usually do. I procrastinated for weeks and almost ground to a halt. Once I gave myself a good talking-to, I managed to push on through to the end. Aaron, the hero, didn’t help me though – he was supposed to be a nice straight-forward character, but he really gave me the run around!



Without spoiling the plot, could you let us know a little about the story?



It’s about second-chances. Both Kiki and Aaron are at crossroads in their lives, but they have to come to terms with their pasts in order to find a way forward. We also get to catch up with Mia and Daniel from Sunrise, and you can expect some meddling from a few old favourites.

 

In Wedding Bells at Butterfly Cove, we meet Kiki, Mia’s sister. How similar or different are the two sisters?


Mia is the big sister. Although there is less than 18 months between them, she has always taken responsibility for Kiki and their youngest sister, Nee. Kiki is a typical middle child – she is the peace maker, the people pleaser. She’s the most sensitive of the three sisters and looks for the best in people, often to her own disadvantage.



Do you base any of your characters on people you know?



I grew up in a blended family and I firmly believe that it’s what is in your heart, not the blood in your veins that matters. Richard is a tribute to my beloved step-dad, who was everything I ever needed in a father. I miss him every day.





What do you like to read when you are not writing?


I read romance. When I’m writing, I don’t read similar sub-genre stories though. I have a kindle full of contemporary romance, but until I get Christmas at Butterfly Cove written, I am sticking to paranormal and sci-fi romances to make sure I’m not unduly influenced. I often re-read favourite series when I am writing.



Finally, have you three words which sum up Wedding Bells at Butterfly Cove?



Family, friendship, courage

It's always fascinating to hear from an author on writing. Thank you again for answering my questions and good luck with finishing Christmas at Butterfly Cove.

About the Author





Sarah Bennett has been reading for as long as she can remember. Raised in a family of bookworms, her love affair with books of all genres has culminated in the ultimate Happy Ever After – getting to write her own stories to share with others.


Born and raised in a military family, she is happily married to her own Officer (who is sometimes even A Gentleman). Home is wherever he lays his hat, and life has taught them both that the best family is the one you create from friends as well as relatives.

When not reading or writing, Sarah is a devotee of afternoon naps and sailing the high seas, but only on vessels large enough to accommodate a casino and a choice of restaurants.

You can follow Sarah on   Facebook,  |  Twitter  |  Amazon Author Page.

Buy Links:   Amazon UK|   Amazon US  |   Amazon CA
   
                  |  Amazon AU  |   Kobo  |  Nook  |  iTunes


Thanks to Sarah Bennett, HQ  Digital and Jenny at Neverland Tours for  a place on the Tour.

Giveaway

 Here's your chance to win 

 

a necklace and notebook and a £10 Amazon gift card. 1 winner, UK only.





To enter, follow the link below and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
  

Comments

Popular Posts