Skip to main content

Featured

Death at Lovers Leap by Catherine Coles #Review#PublicationDay

    Today I am featuring the third in a cozy crime series by Catherine Coles , The Martha Miller Mysteries . Death at Lovers' Leap is published today, on February 16th by Boldwood Books .You can read my review of the first in the series, Poison at the Village Show   here amd the second, Death at the Country Fair   here .     Westleham Village 1948 As Valentine's Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go - famous local beauty spot, Lovers' Leap. Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play a

The Island of Dreams by Helen McGinn #Review #PublicationDay

 

It's Happy Publication Day to Helen McGinn for her latest novel, The Island of Dreams, published by Boldwood Books today. 


Martha is the youngest of three sisters and, in her mid-thirties, has the dubious honour of being the only one to call off a wedding at the last moment.

Now, feeling as if she’ll be single forever, and trying to keep her low opinion of her sister Iris’s fiancé to herself for risk of looking bitter, Martha needs a change of scene.

When she is given the opportunity of a holiday to Paxos it seems too good to turn down, though the idea of travelling alone is daunting. And when the trip to the Greek island gets complicated, Martha wonders if this has all been a mistake.

But soon the island and its residents start to work their magic on Martha, and when she meets single father Harry and his adorable son Milo, a new way of living is revealed in contrast with the drab routine of her life back home. How can Martha leave behind the warmth of the people, the freedom and the fun, not to mention Harry and Milo when it’s time for her to go home…

Let Helen McGinn magic you away to a world of sunshine and serenity, romance and relaxation. Perfect for fans of Erica James, Carol Kirkwood and Karen Swan.


 My Thoughts

What a gorgeous setting for this escapist novel. The Greek sun seems so appealing and the sea shimmers away. Martha needs this escape. Despite her close family ties, she has tried to avoid being in her childhood home with its memories of her ex- fiance and her sister's  wedding. You sense that Martha is ready for a change but not sure which direction to go in. She has tried to protect her heart and avoid amy entanglements. 

    The family who befriends Martha in Greece take her at face value and see such positives that she does not really see in herself. Her natural kindness draws people to her and she feels a sense of belonging in the community she meets. With a range of characters who add such colour to the story and strong central characters, this is an enjoyable read and perfect for holiday reading.

In short: escapist read

About the Author

Helen McGinn is a much-loved wine expert on TV and in print and an international wine judge. She spent ten years as a supermarket buyer sourcing wines around the world before setting up her award-winning blog (and now best-selling wine book) The Knackered Mother’s Wine Club. She is the drinks writer for the Daily Mail and regularly appears on TV’s Saturday Kitchen and This Morning. Helen lives in the New Forest.

You can follow Helen here: Facebook |  Twitter  |  Instagram

                                          |  Newsletter sign up   |  Bookbub 

 Book links

Thanks to Helen McGinn, Boldwood Books and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of the book and a place on the tour

                                                         Check out the rest of the tour!

 


 

 

 


 


Comments

Popular Posts