Jenny Sparrow knows the Future by Melissa Pimentel ** blog Tour Review**

Jenny Sparrow knows the Future was published in paperback on July 27th so I am delighted to be part of the celebrations to launch this summer read by Melissa Pimentel
 
Jenny Sparrow thinks she knows her future. According to the plan she made at thirteen, it's time for her to get married. But when her boyfriend proposes a break instead of a wedding, a girls' weekend in Vegas is the only solution... Until she wakes up in a stranger's bed, and discovers that this is the year she gets married - to the wrong man! Jenny wants a divorce, now. But as she gets to know her infuriating, accidental husband, it all goes awry. Her plan was to marry her soulmate... But what if she already has?

My Thoughts

This is a light-hearted, amusing story which would be a great holiday read. The central character, Jenny Sparrow is very likeable and really stands out as a personality. All her life she has stuck to a plan she drew up when an early teenager. It is her security blanket. Watching her being forced to step off plan and try the unfamiliar makes her seem vulnerable and very human. Jenny's fear that she will develop the same illness that has struck her mother feels realistic as does her guilt that she is living on a different continent. She needs to feel in control.

    You have to take the plot with a huge pinch of salt but in this type of escapist story, I can do that. Jenny's life in London rings true to me and Jenny's work colleague, Ben and her American best friend, Isla, adds a bit of humour. I rather enjoyed the side plot around the insurance case which Jenny is investigating. 

    Written in the first person, the prose reads easily and fluently. Melissa has struck just the right tone for what is ultimately an uplifting read. Life might not always work out as you planned but that isn't necessarily a bad thing.

In short: an uplifting holiday read which never flags.

About the Author

At the age of twenty two, Melissa Pimentel moved to London from a small town in Massachusetts and has lived there happily ever since. Upon moving to the U.K, Melissa began trawling the London dating scene for clean, non-sociopathic sexual partners and began blogging about her findings. It was these experiences, which sparked not only her writing career but even led her to meet her husband. Her latest fiction novel, Jenny Sparrow Knows the Future, is the perfect piece of summer escapism for fans of Bridesmaids, The Hangover and HBO series Girls

You can follow Melissa here:  Twitter   |  Website   |  Facebook 

Thanks to Olivia Thomas, the publishers Michael Joseph and Melissa Pimentel for a copy of the book and a place on the tour.

Catch up on the rest of the Tour!

   

Comments